JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Karen L.

Nanny in Elmhurst, NY 11373.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Elmhurst, NY

  • Age 31
  • 14 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Last week

Preferred Rate $20-$30 per hour

Karen’s Bio

Hello! My name is Karen and I am currently a classroom teacher working with students with Autism, but took a break for the summer from DOE paperwork! I have had many years of experience working with children starting back to when I was in high school when I used to babysit for families in my neighborhood (many of which I am still close with today). I was a nanny in the city while in college for two years and have experience working with toddlers. I worked for an after school learning center as a tutor (second graders), and worked for 4 years as a teacher assistant for students with moderate to severe disabilities (developmental disabilities). I am now finishing up my second year as a 6:1:1 teacher working with students diagnosed with Autism (grades K-2). I have a BA in English, and an MA in Elementary Education (general education and special education) grades 1-6. I am CPR certified and have had training in Therapeutic Crisis Intervention training. I have responsible and believe I have a lot of patience and love with children and truly love what I do!


Age Specific Experience

14 years of paid child care experience with:

  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech
  • Down Syndrome
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Seizures

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Bathing
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Positive Behavioral Support

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 7/8/16

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Chinese

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


Cecelia L. is a reference for Karen L. Relationship: Client
Stephanie F. is a reference for Karen L. Relationship: Co-worker
Jump to Top
Karen L.
Karen L.
Elmhurst, NY 11373

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $20-$30 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now