JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Basic Background Check

Barbara P.

Nanny in Middletown, NY 10940.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

  • Military Veteran Branch of Service: Navy

    Military Veteran Branch of Service: Navy

Middletown, NY

  • Age 50
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within two months

Preferred Rate $15-$18 per hour

Barbara’s Bio

My name is Barbara Press, and I am a professional nanny. My resume, work history and availability schedule follow this profile (below). I have worked as a professional nanny on and off for over 8 years professionally in total, but like many women I have been babysitting since I was a young girl (age 9) giving me over 35+ year’s experience.  
I am a single woman with a 6-year-old Golden Retriever named Emma. I own my home in Westtown, N.Y. about 12 miles from Middletown, N.Y. I relocated back to N.Y. in 2004 after living in California for nine years to be closer to my brother, sister and nine nephews and niece. My brother has four children, one severely autistic and another son with Dystonia. I share this information because it can be helpful with families that may have a child with challenges. I assist my brother as needed. 
I worked as a child care provider when I was overseas serving in the Navy on my off duty time. The petty officers I served with trusted me with their children, so there never was a shortage of part time work. After my six years in the service, I continued in the child care industry while attending college. Eventually, I applied for the State of California Licensed Child Care Provider license so I could operate a Day Care facility out of my home which I did until I graduated college.  
I’m comfortable working with all ages of children, but enjoy 4 year olds most! At this age I find them to be engaging, precocious and developing their own personality (like a Little Person). Many of the families I’ve worked with are multiple children households but I’ve also had the opportunity to work with families that have one child (my sister’s son is an only child). I love to work with families that have pets in the home and I do not object to caring for them also. When I lived in California, I was an active volunteer for Concerned People for Animals in Ventura.  
I’m a natural born kid, and get very involved with the children I care for (if they let me). I tend to be the Pied Piper when kids are around. I enjoy crafts, puppet shows, baking and cooking, outside activities including kickball and softball. With infants, I find creative ways to work with them through play when they are not sleeping. I’m an avid reader and receive several parent trade magazines monthly to keep me informed.  I will get bored and it would not be a good match, if your children only see me as a ‘babysitter’ observing rather than a part of the family (sitting in front of the TV all day until you return is not what I have in mind!). 
I’m currently seeking a family for the long term. I am flexible with my work schedule. I attend college one night a week (Wednesdays) and every other weekend.  Although I do not have children of my own, or demanding responsibilities that would ‘rush’ me home, I do believe a healthy, mutually respectful long term relationship with the family I choose to work with is essential. My last family contract ended September 2008 and I am currently interviewing families.
I can assure you, that you will never find a person that will take care of your children like you will but I feel confident I come pretty close. 
Thank you for considering me as your child care provider. 
Warm regards,
Barbara
845-421-7892
_________________________________________________________________
O BJECTIVE
Leverage 35+ years of child care and domestic aide services to assist families in the growth and development of their children. 
BACKGROUND SUMMARY
Goal-oriented, organized, reliable, self-starter in child care services who consistently produces results far exceeding parent’s expectations.  
EDUCATION
Mahwah High School, Mahwah, N.J. 1980-1984Central Texas University, Iwakuni, Japan Campus 1993-1996 Major: Law enforcement.Ventura College, Ventura, CA, 1996-2000 Major: General Studies & Business DevelopmentMarist College, Fishkill, N.Y. 2008 (Attending) Major: Leadership and Communications.
U.S. Navy Military Veteran 1992-2000  
PROFESSIONAL, RELATED EXPERIENCE  
123 KidsCare, Oxnard , CA 1999-2001
Owned and operated, State of California licensed child care provider facility.
Nanny, live out, McFarlane Family, Santa Barbara , CA 1999-2000
Provided care for infant baby boy, prepares meals and feeds child, cleans and organizeshouse, spends quality, interactive time with child when awake.
Nanny, live out, Alston Family, Ventura , CA 1998-2001
Provided care for three children, ages 2 to 5, prepared all meals as required by parents schedule, assisted in getting children to school in a.m. and picking up children as required, organized children’s activities, cleans and organizes home including laundry daily, takes children to activities, very involved with the children i.e. summer vacation, homework, trips to the beach and local restaurants, long walks and trips to the local park. Very much a part of the family.
Nanny, live out, Valentino Family, Warwick, NY 2008
Provided care for two girls, ages 3 and 5, and elder daughter age 15 when needed. Also, care for two dogs, 3 months and 10 years old. Prepared breakfast and lunch, and drove both children to pre-school two days a week. Children’s activities included crafting, art, baking, cooking, trips to the park, learning how to use binoculars and bird watch, day trips to petting zoo, supervising while children swam in family in ground pool, teaching girls how to play hopscotch, ring toss and many outdoor games. The best nanny position I’ve ever had. 
HOBBIES AND INTERESTS
Home improvement, interior design, crafts, scrap booking, running, hiking, snorkeling, health science, traveling, gardening, business, animal rescue, military veteran and supporter. 
REFERENCES & OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION
Criminal background check completed 12/07. Written and verbal references upon request. Will agree to drug test. CPR needs to be updated, but I have been CPR & 1st Aid certified for many years and can perform as required.  

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Autism
  • Cancer

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Available to start on 9/30/2016

Availability

My availability is valid through 12/29/16

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Italian

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
  • Italian

References

Danielle A. is a reference for Barbara P.
Danielle A. is a reference for Barbara P.
Jump to Top
Barbara P.
Barbara P.
Middletown, NY 10940
50

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$18 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

  • Military

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now