JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Joann D.

Nanny in Mineola, NY 11501.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Mineola, NY

  • Age 53
  • 17 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within a month

Preferred Rate $18-$20 per hour

Joann’s Bio

Hi, My name is Joann Diaferio.
    I am a graduate of Cathedral HS, and the Culinary Institute of America.
I have a HS diploma and an Associate's Degree in Culinary Arts.
I have been a chef for over 25 yrs.and left the restaurant business in 2001.
I also work p/t,either on a Tuesday or Wednesday morning on the Jazz Discovery Program In NYC. Which brings kids into a jazz club to listen and learn about Jazz Music. This position would not interfere with care of the children unless I was needed for morning hours.
I have worked for 4 families in the past 16 yrs.and still remain a part of their family. My past positions terminated because the kids were older and no longer needed a nanny.
A few important qualities that I bring to my position as a nanny are maturity,responsibility and being professional.
The ability to love, care,supervise,have fun and be a good role model.
I am trustworthy ,experienced,and flexible with my availability and willingness to help out any way possible .
I have excellent references and my current and previous employers can be reached for further verification.
My husband and I live in Mineola which is a 35 minute train ride from Manhattan.
Thank You for your time, interest and attention.


Age Specific Experience

17 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Epilepsy

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 10/31/16

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


James P. is a reference for Joann D. Relationship: Former Employer
Jeanne P. is a reference for Joann D. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Joann D.
Joann D.
Mineola, NY 11501

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $18-$20 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now