JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sara M.

Nanny in New York, NY 10128.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

New York, NY

  • Age 29
  • 12 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within two months

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

Sara’s Bio

My name is Sara. I am a graduate student at Hunter College for Urban Affairs, with a focus on community and neighborhood development.

I am a loving, enthusiastic and patient caregiver. I love working with children and have over 12 years of experience with newborns through middle school-aged kids, including experience with special needs children in areas such as ADHD, Autism and Aspergers' Syndrome). I have a 22-year-old brother with Aspergers' Syndrome who I have helped care for throughout his life. I also have experience with adults with developmental disabilities in a work/life skills-training program (mental retardation, cerebral palsy, down syndrome ect.).

During college, I nannied/babysat an average of 20 hours a week for area families. I have worked for up to 12 hours a day, and been responsible for up to 4 children under the age of 6 at a time. After graduation, I worked full-time for 1 year for a family with newborn twins girls, until the family moved out of state. Since moving back to NYC a few years ago, I have established on-call sitting relationships with several families.

I enjoy working with children with special needs because I see it as important to respect children in the same way that we as adults ask for respect. It is easy for this population of children to be misunderstood and mistreated, and I choose to work with patience, understanding and compassion, and to focus a child's strengths even as I work with and address their challenges. I aim help them build the skills to be able to better cope with any difficulties they may face, and therefore live more happily. I find these skills important when working with both special needs children and "neuro-typical" ones.

I have extensive experience working with infants and toddlers and diapering/feeding/sleep routines, etc. I also have experience working with infants who have severe colic/acid reflux. I have no shortage of energy for creative games, dancing, singing, playing in the park, exploring, etc. but know how to balance this with gentle discipline when needed. I am looking to meet families who need part-time and/or on-call hours. I am in school on Tuesday and Thursday evenings but my availability is otherwise open. Please feel free to contact me with any questions!


Age Specific Experience

12 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 10/30/15

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Sign Language

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help


Stephanie A. is a reference for Sara M. Relationship: Family
Amy C. is a reference for Sara M. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Sara M.
Sara M.
New York, NY 10128

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now