JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Meridith J.

Nanny in New York, NY 10032.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

New York, NY

  • Age 37
  • 24 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Meridith has been our nanny for a few weeks now and she is fantastic. She is really engaging with my 6month old,...

- Ro M.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Meridith’s Bio

I am thirty-five years old and originally from the Midwest.  I have lived in New York for the past six years and aside from my genuine love for working with children, I work part time as an Actor and Artistic Director for a non-profit theater company.
From the age of twelve and continuing through college, I worked regularly as a Babysitter, Mother’s Helper and an extended-stay caregiver (while parents were traveling).  Since 2006, I have worked as a full and part time Nanny for five amazing families in Kansas and New York as well as providing after school pick-up, drop-off at activities/play dates, homework help, dinner prep, child related cleaning and pet care.
I am currently working for a wonderful family in Carroll Gardens, caring for a two-year old boy and his newborn sister. I additionally work as a back-up and date-night sitter for several families in Brooklyn and Manhattan and I would love to meet new families who are looking for occasional and/or regular evening and weekend help.
As a full time Nanny I have cared for children ranging from newborn to nine years old.  The majority of my full time experience has involved caring for children under five and young multiples.  Although I love working with young children and guiding them through early development and discovery, I am very comfortable and enjoy working with older/school-aged children as well.  I come with a catalog of games, songs and activities for any age.  Some are classics, some I created or revamped with the incredibly fun children I’ve cared for.  I have worked in homes and participated in children’s classes/activities in both Manhattan and Brooklyn. 
For the children that I care for, I help maintain a healthy meal and sleep schedule that leaves a lot of time for fun in between.  A typical day involves play with puzzles, toys, music (dancing and singing), discovery/imagination play, art projects and reading.  We explore language and new words through books and songs, numbers, colors and shapes.  Regular art-play with homemade play-dough, paint and crayons (big hit!) and weather permitting, we travel outside to nearby parks and playgrounds to play and explore. Regular attendance to toddler music classes and weekly trips to the library.  I am in constant communication with the parents about what we all see and think about their development and collaborate on ways to keep the children engaged and learning.


Age Specific Experience

24 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech
  • Diabetes
  • Mobility Challenges

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Bathing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Positive Behavioral Support

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 12/31/15

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Meridith has been our nanny for a few weeks now and she is fantastic. She is really engaging with my 6month old, very easy to work with, and does whatever she can to help out. It makes me happy to know my so is in good hands!

- Ro M.


Rohini M. is a reference for Meridith J. Relationship: Former Employer
Sasha S. is a reference for Meridith J. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Meridith J.
Meridith J.
New York, NY 10032

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now