JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sherry M. Nanny in New York, NY 10016.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

New York, NY

  • Age 39
  • 8 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $20-$35 per hour

Sherry’s Bio

From Vermont originally, I've lived in NYC the past 17 years. The last 7 of those years, I have had the supreme pleasure of being a significant player in the life of a truly amazing boy named Adam, from Murray Hill. From the time he was 5, I would pick him up from school, take him to any after-school activities, help him with homework, make him dinner, clean up the kitchen, bathe him, do projects with him, fold any laundry, and simply talk with him. As a self-employed multi-media artist, the flexibility of my schedule has served as an asset within my working partnership with Adam's family. Sadly, though, it's time to move on, as Adam's independence is growing significantly as he approaches 13! Personally, I'm 37 and in a great committed relationship for the past two years. He and I live together on East 35th Street in Manhattan, and both work from home. We have no children, but plan to. I'm currently developing a podcast which explores the transitional spaces of our lives, as well as various e-books and e-courses with themes including heartbreak recovery. My passion is to demonstrate the beauty inside even those harder things... even the debris on the sidewalk ( I love to inspire children to trust their creative yearnings, and to voice their feelings. I consider everyone's religious or spiritual choices sacred. Though I lean toward the vegetarian side of life, I will prepare anything, and have fun doing what I can in the kitchen. I like to speak to and interact with children in a way that honors their intelligence. Although the larger part of my childcare experience is with the 5-12 year age range, I do periodically watch my friend's 1 and 3 year old girl and boy. I also grew up helping to care for my two sisters, who are 7 and 9 years younger than I am. And I have a great love of dogs and cats!


Age Specific Experience

8 years of paid child care experience with:

  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 7/5/16

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing


Hope G. is a reference for Sherry M. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Sherry M.
Sherry M.
New York, NY 10016

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $20-$35 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Enhanced Background Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now