Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 31
  • Nanny in Peekskill, NY 10566

Meet Chanee

  • Speaks Other
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Dear Family, Hello. I have worked as a professional nanny for 7 years and am currently seeking a full time or part time position. Currently, I am a nanny for a family in South Nyack, NY and take care of a 5 year old and  1 year old boys. Their grandmother will be taking over care and this is why I am seeking a new nanny job. Prior to this family, I worked with two families and started with the families when their children were newborns. I believe that my love of working with children was born from helping my mother with the children she took care of at our home when I was growing up. I began babysitting at the age of 12 and eventually became known as our neighborhood babysitter. I had watched children that were newborn to age 12. At the age of 25 I continued my Read more love of childcare and became a professional nanny. It is my belief that all children deserve to be loved, protected and respected as individuals. I feel that my most important job is to teach them to make good choices for themselves. I think that this is most effectively accomplished by working with the parents as a team to provide clear boundaries and rules of acceptable behavior. Communication and consistency are vital components in this relationship. Positive reinforcement is my preferred method of behavior modification. However, when negative consequences are called for I will use discussion, redirection, time-out and loss of privileges. I consider myself to be firm but fair in my dealings with the children in my care. As a nanny, I would be part of the family team providing for child's emotional, physical, educational, social and recreational needs. Being a nanny is not something taken lightly: it is a profession unlike any other. I started my journey in the field 15 years ago and have had the privilege of working with two wonderful families in  New York and currently, the family in South Nyack. I have taken college classes in early childhood. I stay up to date with the latest childhood developmental theories, educational toys and by reading relevant books and magazines. I belong to the Nanny Alliance of New York and New Jersey. Through this group I have had the opportunity to attend seminars and also network. The nanny profession is most perfectly suited to my interests, abilities and temperament. I hope this letter has given you a better insight to who I am. I am sincerely looking forward to speaking to you.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 3/31/16

Ratings & reviews

1.0 1.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

0

0

0

0

1

Reema R.

10/30/2015

Sounded great over the phone, interviews well and seemed very interested in the job. However, oddly the next morning after coming to our home to meet/interview with us, I received no response when trying to contact her (via phone and email) to request her last name for background check and to verify 2 of the references given since the phone numbers/voicemails did not match up to the names she provided. This was very concerning and unprofessional since we were planning to offer her the job, pending verification of background check and references. Common courtesy for someone who had invited you into their home to meet the family is to at least respond, even if to say you are no longer interested. My husband and I started to question whether she was telling the truth about her background, experience, etc. and felt she wasted our time.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$40/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Heart Defects
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene

Education

Sociology

Currently attending

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Chanee's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now