Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 32
  • Nanny in Rochester, NY 14610

Meet Michelle

  • Speaks French
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a recent graduate from The New School University in NYC, with my bachelor's degree in Clinical Psychology.  I am currently employed Full Time at the University of Rochester-Mt. Hope Family Center as a research assistant on a project called 'Building Healthy Children.'  In addition to the finely honed skills of organization, time management, patience and hard work that are required to not only survive, but excel as a college student/young professional, I have held several jobs that have significantly contributed to my professional knowledge and abilities,   In addition to the rigorous course work I have completed at the New School, I have also had extensive ‘hands on’ experience.  Previously, I have worked as an intern at Columbia Support Services, a day habilitation program for adults with severe mental illness, where I was able to work with individual patients, as well as in a group therapy setting.  I Read more have also worked as a therapy aide in the crisis center at the Finger Lakes Addiction Counseling & Referral Agency, (FLACRA), in Clifton Springs, NY.  Lastly, and perhaps most importantly, is the work I have done for the past 3 years as a theatre/yoga/dance teacher and personal needs aide for adults with developmental, emotional and physical handicaps at Cobblestone Arts Center in Farmington, NY.  In a technical sense, my work with these students has shown me the delicate balance between cognitive functioning, environmental influences, and the resulting expression of behavior.  The vast responsibilities of this job have further fostered my abilities to multi-task and organize; however, because of the highly sensitive and difficult nature of this work I have also cultivated a strong and well-rounded proficiency in combining creativity, empathy, patience and professionalism.  In addition, working at Cobblestone has required me to learn and work within the framework of NYSDDSO standards, and has also allowed me to work closely with service coordinators and families to provide the best care possible for the students.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available evenings and weekends

Nanny

  • My availability is valid through 10/13/11

Ratings & reviews

Michelle doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$8-$10/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Autism
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss

Education

Clinical Psychology

Graduated The New School

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

Share Michelle's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now