Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Nanny in Staten Island, NY 10304

Meet Orla

  • Comfortable with pets

My name is Orla. I am an elementary school teacher from Ireland with 6 years teaching experience. My husband started his surgery residency in Staten Island University Hospital and we have relocated to Staten Island. I studied the Bachelor of Education degree at St. Patrick’s College of Education, Dublin, Ireland and received honors. I studied Music and French as my academic subjects for my first year in St. Patrick’s College and Music for my final two years. In addition, I have a passion for music and I have completed my grade 8 piano examination from the Royal Irish Academy of Music. I received a Diploma in French from National University of Ireland, Galway and I have currently completed two modules from the Professional Certificate in Inclusive and Special Education. I am Adult and Pediatric First Aid/CPR/AED certified. In Tirellan National School, the school I have worked in for the past Read more six years, I have organized extracurricular activities, volunteered to tutor children experiencing learning difficulties and managed children in the classroom with severe emotional and behavioral issues. I organized multiple extracurricular activities in order to provide children in the community the opportunity to excel in various domains and provide them with the tools to succeed in the classroom; this included a homework club, choir, school band and athletics club. I have experience working with the National Education Psychological Service, speech and language therapists, occupational therapists and other healthcare professionals that have supported children in our school. Over my career, I have aimed to serve my community and also encourage students in my classroom to do the same. My students have consistently improved their results in their standardized exams at the end of the school year and I work hard to instill a love of learning in my students. I believe that the success of any school should be measured by the happiness and confidence of all its pupils. This is best achieved by recognizing and celebrating the unique and diverse talents of each individual. I enjoy working with children and I have a passion for instilling a love of learning in the children in my care.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings and afternoons

Ratings & reviews

Orla doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$100/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Positive Behavioral Support

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Orla's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now