JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Amy E.

Nanny in Portland, OR 97214.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Portland, OR

  • Age 36
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Amy came to interview for a nanny position with our family. Unfortunately we couldn't hire her because of schedu...

- Megan M.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Amy’s Bio

Have you ever noticed that there are some people that kids are drawn to like magnets?  You will be at a barbecue and all of a sudden there will be a swarm of kids running around the yard with that lady from down the street?  That's me.  I can charm the fussiest baby and entertain the most wild of toddlers.  
I have been taking care of children since the age of 12.  I am a former assistant special education teacher, outdoor educator, and have done lots of leadership development work with kids aged 11-18.  I lived in South Africa and worked with kids in the squatter camps and townships, helping counsel girls who had been assaulted and kids who don't have a whole lot of chances in this world.  
My volunteer work includes working with homeless teens in downtown Denver, teaching Children's Ministry and leading Youth Group at church, chaperoning mission trips to orphanages in Mexico, and I currently work with an organization here in Portland that helps rescue young girls who are victims of human trafficking.   My child care philosophy is that of helping to build childrens' self esteem and self worth and inspiring in them a love of learning.  I love to do arts and crafts with stuff we find around the house, reading books, taking walks, exploring the neighborhood plant life to see if we can smell any pretty flowers.  Maybe a science experiment or two.  I am full of fun games to play also!  
As a former nutritional counselor and self-proclaimed Granola, I place a very high importance on proper nutrition and organic healthy foods.  Showing kids there are substitutes to high sugar and high fat yucky foods is one of my favorite things to do!  I also believe in good exercise everyday and proper rest makes for a healthy kid who is ready to take on the world!   


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Visual Impairment

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Amy came to interview for a nanny position with our family. Unfortunately we couldn't hire her because of schedule issues. But I was so touched by what a warm, easy-going person she was, that I wanted to write a review. She interacted in such a warm and natural way with my 2 y.o. She was totally confident and a joy to have around, even if just for the interview. She was great about emailing and getting me reference info (which all checked out). I just had to give her a plug here on sittercity! Some family will be very lucky to have her!!!

- Megan M.


Amy H. is a reference for Amy E.
Amy H. is a reference for Amy E.
Jump to Top
Amy E.
Amy E.
Portland, OR 97214

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now