JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Shannon H.

Nanny in Portland, OR 97212.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Portland, OR

  • Age 28
  • 12 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within six months

Preferred Rate $16-$22 per hour

Shannon’s Bio

I was a creative photography student at the University of Florida in Gainesville, FL and have been living in Portland, OR for the past seven years. I graduated from Portland State University with my bachelor of fine arts degree with focuses in photography, video, sculpture, and printmaking. Aside from art and photography, I am interested in possibly becoming a certified doula, though that may be a few years down the road. I have been babysitting for more than a decade and have worked as a nanny for the past eight years for several families (with one+ year commitments). I have a great love for children of all ages. I enjoy teaching them about the world and giving them fun and educational experiences. I love doing art projects and cultivating imagination and creativity. I am a true believer in children being actively engaged. I am familiar with Montessori and Waldorf approaches as well as attachment parenting. I have experience with cloth diapering, potty training, organic/veg diets, preparing breast milk, and more. I have participated in baby sign language, swim lessons, music together, art classes, and so much more all here in Portland. I try to get outside daily despite rain or weather, either on walks or outings to libraries, museums, rec centers, etc. I have my own car and am comfortable driving children. I am very punctual and reliable as well as extremely neat and organized. I love pets of all kinds and am more than happy to care for them as well. Please contact me for my resume and list of references!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

12 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 9/28/16

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

References

Chandra M. is a reference for Shannon H. Relationship: Former Employer
Elizabeth N. is a reference for Shannon H. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Shannon H.
Shannon H.
Portland, OR 97212
28

years
of age

12

years experience

Preferred Rate $16-$22 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now