Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 58
  • Nanny in Tualatin, OR 97062

Meet Carol

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have been a professional nanny for the past 10 years in Portland (ages 0 - 9). I am looking for a new job, as well as occasional babysitting beginning September 3rd. I love to paint anything, read, make slime & playdough, do cooking & science experiments, play games & pretend with stuffed animals, build & collage with recycled materials, go on outdoor adventures, play ball, swim, get soaked at water parks, and laugh and play on the floor for hours. I follow the RIE Philosophy of Childcare (Resources for Infant Educarers). Basically, I trust and respect every child to be an initiator, explorer and a self learner. I also respect every emotion a child has. I am a good listener and, as they grow, I give guidance and natural consequences with respect and kindness. I especially enjoy engaging with children to find the joy in the everyday tasks like Read more clean up and cooking. In my most recent long term position (5 years), I cared for 3 girls who are now 6, 8 and 10. I am a Type 1 Diabetes caregiver (0 - 6 yrs old) for the youngest girl. I've also handled emergencies such as broken bones and allergic reactions. I have extensive infant care experience including making homemade purees, cloth diapers and potty training. I was also the Homeschool Art & Science teacher. This family has moved so I'm looking for new jobs and babysitting. Personally I love to cook, read, weld metal art, do yoga and listen to music. I have also raised 2 kids of my own. My 3 main strengths as a nanny would be: 1. Good parent communication 2. Calm and capable in emergencies 3. Creative inspiration for kids (artist background)...10+ years of kids art & science projects as a nanny. I believe inspiring a child's curiosity is the key to learning. My current and previous employers are all happy to talk, text or email and answer any questions you might have. I look forward to connecting with you to see if it's a fit.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/1/19

Ratings & reviews

Carol doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$25/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Diabetes
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Graduated Northwestern College - Saint Paul 1981

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Carol's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now