JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sonia C.

Nanny in Allentown, PA 18109.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Allentown, PA

  • Age 48
  • 20 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Last week

Preferred Rate $12-$25 per hour

Sonia’s Bio

My experience caring for children started when I was 12 babysitting for the neighbor boy.  Upon graduating from high school I provided care for 2 families in their home.  Both of these families had school age children. My duties included getting children up in the morning, fed, dressed, and on and off school bus.  I also provided light housekeeping for both of these families. 
For 3 years I worked for Head Start as a teacher's aide.  As a teacher's aide I assisted the teacher in lesson planning, supervised children, helped them wash hands and brush teeth, planned menus, prepared meals, and filled in for teacher during her absence. 
For the previous 15 years I have been a licensed childcare provider in my home.  I cared for all ages of children and am comfortable to continue doing so.  As there were many children of one age group I can say that I have experience with multiples. There were also children with special needs enrolled at my daycare.  
As I provided childcare in my home, I obtained countless hours of childcare related training from Penn State Better Kid Care program, a CDA (child development associate) certificate, first aid, CPR, fire safety, common illnesses in childcare, and some college credits in early childhood education.  I participated in a state program to improve the quality of childcare.
The reason I started providing care in my home was to be at home with my own children. My youngest will soon graduate from college, so my goal has been accomplished.  Being in the business for most of my life has been very rewarding and I can't imagine not continuing. This brings me to this site, looking for a nanny position. 
I have been in a variety of childcare setting over the years and a low adult to child ratio is what I prefer because the children get better one on one attention.  As a nanny I can focus on the needs of each child.  My experience and dedication will be a benefit.
References are available and I also have my clearances.


Age Specific Experience

20 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bed Baths
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 8/1/15

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


Noreen S. is a reference for Sonia C. Relationship: Client
Christina C. is a reference for Sonia C. Relationship: Client
Jump to Top
Sonia C.
Sonia C.
Allentown, PA 18109

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $12-$25 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Enhanced Background Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now