JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Abby P.

Nanny in Bartonsville, PA 18321.

Bartonsville, PA

  • Age 24
  • 1 year paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $7-$9 per hour

Abby’s Bio

Do you have a full-time job, are you a student or is caregiving your career? I currently work as a store manager for a perfume store, raising money toward flight school. I have really enjoyed flying my uncle's plane, and I love travel, such as my trip to China, so that is my ultimate goal. I loved my job as a live-in babysitter when I was 15, however, and I babysit and petsit for family friends and neighbors and really enjoy the experience. I also have two younger siblings, and I take care of them often. :)
What types of families do you currently care for on a regular basis? The children I cared for during my time doing the live-in job were 2 boys (ages 4 and 7) and a girl (age 6). They were real fun, spunky kids, and we went hiking and blueberry picking a lot since their parents were directors of a Christian summer camp and there was a lot of property to explore. I would walk about half a mile with them to a pool in a closeby community a couple days a week as well, and that was very fun. I really like being around active kids, since I really enjoy the outdoors, and families with lots of pets. I've babysat for other kinds of families as well, however: a family with just one happy and rambunctious child who liked playing house very often, a family with 2 quiet boys of the ages 8 and 12 that just liked to play board games or play video games with each other, and others, and each one has been a pleasant expereince. I also care for my own 2 siblings of the ages 15 and 9. I cook for them occasionally and enjoy doing so, and I like folding laundry in the evening when it's quiet.
For babysitting, what age ranges have you sat for and which are you most comfortable with? I am most comfortable with children from ages 4 to 13. I find that children at 4 and 5 years old are already very developed in personality and are eager to learn, and I like colouring pictures with children at this age and playing toys and helping to teach them to write their names or with learning to read. The inbetween ages are also very fun, and children seem to enjoy having a babysitter until they turn about 14, and then it just seems that they are too close to my age for me to tell them when to go to sleep or anything.
Do you have any pets or children yourself? I have no children of my own- just two younger siblings. I do, however, have pets. I have a cat, a dog, and five rabbits. I love animals! In the past I had a guinea pig, 2 hamsters, and many kinds of fish. I petsit my friend's rats, also, and used to walk my neighbor's dog before she took the job back over herself for the excersise.
Do you do any volunteer work? I help my dad at his printshop fairly often, and I am also technically a volunteer for AWSOM, but it seems that they haven't needed me to help yet.
If you speak any languages, are you fluent or do you have a basic understanding? I speak Spanish well- I have four years experience, and I can understand it clearly but not speak it quickly. It takes a moment for me to find the correct word. I can undersand Portugese similarly, but less. I learned it from a Rosetta Stone-like program online. And, finally, I know limited Mandarin Chinese from my trip to China, understanding some key things like "How are you" and someone telling me when they need to use the bathroom or are hungry, but not to an extent much further.
Do you have any specific caregiving philosophy? (Absolutely no sweets? One hour of exercise?) I feel that I simply need to uphold the parents' guiding principles for their children and also to stress morals in children that I care for, such as encouraging honesty and teaching manners in younger children, but I tend to be laid back. I don't raise my voice unless absolutely necessary (i.e. Tommy kicked Susie, Susie pulled the dog's ears hard, etc.) and if it can be helped, I will pull a child aside to be gently reprimanded if (s)he has been misbehaving, because I feel it isn't right to embarrass the child in front of his/her sibling(s) or friends they may have around, and also that the embarrassment may lead to distrust or feeling nervous about explaining their behaviour.
Do you have favorite toys or games you like to play with the children or pets? No, but I do love playing outside and reading stories aloud or drawing or anything that makes a child happy during a day.


Age Specific Experience

1 year of paid child care experience with:

  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Homework Help


Andrew P. is a reference for Abby P.
Jump to Top
Abby P.
Abby P.
Bartonsville, PA 18321

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $7-$9 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now