JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Melynda D.

Nanny in Philadelphia, PA 19121.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Philadelphia, PA

  • Age 26
  • 7 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Last week

Rating Average rating of 5 (2 reviews)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5
Claire

We highly recommend Melynda. She is excellent. Unfortunately she is leaving the DC area but Pennsylvania has gai...

- Claire E.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $15-$22 per hour

Melynda’s Bio

I am a recent masters graduate (MS in biology, neuroscience focus) with a passion for children and education.  My background includes bilingual babysitting, after-school routines with elementary and middle school aged children, and toddler care. In the past, I have taught Sunday school with children ranging from ages 3-6, and was also an after school youth leader for elementary-aged kids all through middle and high school.  Further, I have also babysat/nannied for a family of 5 kids during high school and most of college during my breaks. Additionally, I have worked part time as a nanny/babysitter for several families in D.C. after college. I believe that patience and education is key with children, and that they are often more capable of learning than we think.  I enjoy finding ways for kids to learn, whether it be through music, reading, or even games.  Though I may only be entrusted with a child for a couple hours at a time, I believe that every moment is a teachable moment than can last a lifetime.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

7 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 8/10/17

  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • French

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Science
  • Essay Writing
  • French

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

From the moment that Melynda stepped in the door, we were confident that we picked the right person.
She projects a gentle kindness and professionalism ala "Supernanny", and gets it done.

She took care of our eight month old like he was her own son, played with him, fed him, sang to him, entertained him, and worked nonstop.
Not only was she bright and cheery and very knowledgeable about childcare, but put my wife at ease, and asked lots of questions, including "What more can I do to help?", which is always nice to hear.

We would recommend her to anyone, especially new parents, and those fearful of not getting the right person or having someone else take care of their little one.
We will be using her again!

- John A.
5
Claire

We highly recommend Melynda. She is excellent. Unfortunately she is leaving the DC area but Pennsylvania has gained a great sitter.

- Claire E.

Provider's Response

Thank you Claire-I hope you found someone wonderful for Luke! You are all missed-Melynda

Jump to Top
Melynda D.
Melynda D.
Philadelphia, PA 19121
26

years
of age

7

years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$22 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now