JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Allison W. - Austin Nanny

Allison W. Nanny in Austin, TX 78723. Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

Austin, TX

  • Age 26
  • 1 year paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

Allison’s Bio

Throughout high school I taught piano to several children (4 & up) in my neighborhood. I also tutored a 5-year-old in reading and spelling. In college I regularly taught 4 children between the ages of 7 and 14. I babysat for many of the children I taught, and was occasionally responsible for giving them meals or putting them to bed. I worked one summer as a nanny for a 2nd grader and a 4th grader (and their dog). I'm very comfortable with pets, and am a non-smoker. If any of your kids want to learn piano, I can do that too! I have a BA in music from Muhlenberg College, an MA in music theory from UW-Madison (Go Badgers!), and am currently working on my Ph.D. in music theory at UT-Austin.  I love baking, cooking, cleaning, playing with my dogs, going for walks, playing piano, listening to music, going to classical concerts and operas, watching movies, and reading. I love games, museums, and zoos- I have a soft spot for most animals (and I love the way that little kids love animals!). I volunteer regularly at the Austin Humane Society as a dog walker.
I absolutely love teaching. I worked as a teaching assistant at the University of Wisconsin-Madison throughout my master's program, and am currently a TA at the University of Texas at Austin while I work toward my PhD. Teaching has definitely been the most valuable and enjoyable part of graduate school for me. I think the atmosphere is very important, and I try to make the learning experience fun through games and jokes. I have three years of classroom experience, and have also worked for several years as a private tutor (trained and certified by Muhlenberg College).
I am extremely patient, and love doing most kid-related activities. I smile and laugh constantly- I am extremely positive and enthusiastic! I really love to have fun.
I also like to color; crayons are my weapon of choice.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

1 year of paid child care experience with:

  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help
Jump to Top