JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Janice B.

Nanny in Bastrop, TX 78602.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Bastrop, TX

  • Age 60
  • 30 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $11-$20 per hour

Janice’s Bio

I am a certified teacher/trainer/librarian with a Bachelor's Degree in Early Childhood Education and Special Education from the University of Kentucky. I taught in private Early Learning Centers before moving back to Texas, where I taught Kindergarten. I have 18 hours towards my MEd from Texas State- I left halfway through to go to UT for Library Science. I taught public school for 8 years- then began teaching convicted felons with the Federal Prison in Bastrop. Additionally, I taught Parenting Classes and coordinated many programs. I retired in April, 2012. The next day, I was fortunate to get the apple of my eye, light of my life!! Her name is Harley. She is a 75 pound German Rottweiler. I have been training her for the AKC Good Citizen Program and to become a service dog.

My Nanny training - single parent -raised two boys!!! Dallas is now 32, and Denver is 30. Both are married and live very close to me! I have a grandson, Jace, 3, and we are expecting a granddaughter on June 15th. We all live in the country out in Bastrop County, about 15 minutes from the airport.

Since retiring in 2012, I have worked security at Circuit of the Americas since it first opened. Additionally, I worked as a Marketing Agent for a while and a Security Officer at Barton Creek Mall., ie "Mall Cop".

I enjoy spending time with my parents, who also live right down the road. We enjoy being out on the ranch, and spend lots of time swimming at their pool and fishing in their tanks!

I love to travel, and have been on 17 cruises!!! I referee soccer and volleyball for clubs and schools all over Central Texas.

I am a people person and love working with young children/infants. I'll be on a learning mission with twins, if you give me an opportunity!

Please feel free to ask any further questions, or look me up on LinkEd and/or FaceBook! Also, pay is Negotiable!


Age Specific Experience

30 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Age groups: Infant, Toddler, Youth, Adult, Senior
Has own special needs child
Years of Experience: More than 10 years

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Alzheimer's
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Cancer
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Dyslexia
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Premature Newborn
  • Seizures
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bed Baths
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Repositioning
  • Respiratory Care
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)
  • Wilbarger Brushing Protocol

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 7/7/14

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
Jump to Top
Janice B.
Janice B.
Bastrop, TX 78602

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $11-$20 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now