JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sylvia S.

Nanny in Houston, TX 77005.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Houston, TX

  • Age 33
  • 7 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within three months

Preferred Rate $20-$25 per hour

Sylvia’s Bio

Hello, My name is Sylvia Smith. I am a recent graduate of the University of Louisiana with a Bachelor's degree in Child and Family Studies. I am 29 years old and I have 7 plus years of nanny experience under my belt. I have worked as a full-time live-in nanny in New Hampshire, New York, Connecticut, and Mississippi. My most recent full-time nanny experience was through the New York Nanny Agency in 2009. I lived with the family and cared for their their 5 year old daughter. My duties included, preparing meals for the child and family, pick up/ drop off to and from school and various activities, playing with and helping to educate the child. I also performed light housekeeping duties while the child was in school. I had a wonderful experience living with and working for that family for the year that I was there. My future goals includes going to grad school within the next two or three years to get a Masters in Clinical Social Work. I would love to provide counseling for children and family units. I am also a lover of the fine arts and music and would love to get certified in Music Therapy in addition to my MSW. I am very interested in your family's open position. I love babies and I am well versed in caring for them, playing with them, and keeping them stimulated and constantly learning. I am quite familiar with New York City and Westchester, as I was a nanny there before. Although it has been a few years since Ive lived in the area, I have visited several times since, (most recently in December). I am currently still residing in Louisiana (post- graduation) and working as a nanny with two little boys part-time, but would like to relocate back to the New York area to work full-time. I can make myself available to interview in New York for a position if I am afforded that opportunity. I am also CPR and First aid certified. If you would like to get to know a little bit more about me, I can email you my resume and references. My email address is sylviasmith1983@yahoo.com if you would like to contact me. Thanks for your time. Best, Sylvia Smith

Experience

Age Specific Experience

7 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

4 to 5 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Seizures
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Feeding Tube
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Repositioning
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 12/25/16

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • English
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

References

Lauren G. is a reference for Sylvia S. Relationship: Former Employer
Rachel B. is a reference for Sylvia S. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Sylvia S.
Sylvia S.
Houston, TX 77005
33

years
of age

7

years experience

Preferred Rate $20-$25 per hour

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now