JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Shamel S.

Nanny in Alexandria, VA 22306.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Alexandria, VA

  • Age 32
  • 8 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $400-$500 per week

Shamel’s Bio

Hi, I have been a nanny/babysitter for 8 years. I have experience with children of all ages as well as children with disabilities (Autism & ADHD). I want a family that I can partner with, working together with only one goal in mind: the care and development of your child/children. I recognize each child has unique talents, learning styles and personalities. I am dedicated to providing a safe, consistent and nurturing environment, working within each child's comfort zone, helping to ensure optimal social, emotional and educational results. I know the importance of having good communication with the family to report all events, activities and issues. I began working as a assistant teacher in a daycare, became a lead teacher and started being a nanny for a family with a 3 year old and babysitting for different families that had children that attened the daycare.Upon my preganacy i stoped working at the daycare to become a summer nanny for a family with a 3 yr old, 5yr old and 7yr old. Once that was over became a nanny for a newborn. I am currently working as a part-time nanny for a 6yr old girl before and after school maybe 2-3 weeks a month. I am comfortable feeding, diapering, caring for, and entertaining newborn and up and would be quick to learn finer points of responding to their needs. I am caring, loving, attentive, energetic and patient. I am also responsible, motivated and a hard worker. I love exploring what goes on in children and how I can best bring out and support their unique skills and abilities. I have lots of experience cleaning up after children as well as doing their laundry and supervising and helping with homework. I do have a current driver's license and would be available to help with driving, appointments, shopping, and errands. I have a great relationship with all the families i have cared for and good references from the families.  I would like to find a live-out position with the possibility to bring my 14 month old son. If you would like to speak/meet with me please e-mail me. Thank you, Shamel


Age Specific Experience

8 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help


Lisa G. is a reference for Shamel S.
Jump to Top
Shamel S.
Shamel S.
Alexandria, VA 22306

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $400-$500 per week

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now