JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Laura C.

Nanny in Arlington, VA 22203.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Arlington, VA

  • Age 29
  • 14 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within two months

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

Laura’s Bio

Hi!!! I'm currently looking for a summer nanny job (full- and part-time) opportunity as I am a full time teacher during the school year!

I am fluent in  ASL  and Cued Speech . I'm available for the summer and I have my own transportation as well. I have over  14 years experience  in babysitting children from ages 3 months up to 18 years old,  3 years experience  in Child Development w/ Pre-K children, 1 year internship at Montgomery County Public Schools with Deaf/Hard-of-Hearing children,  1 year in a daycare  as a teacher's assistant. I have my 90 hour clock certificate as senior staff, and I was a part-time nanny/babysitter in Olney for three different families -- 1 year and 3 months, 9 months, and 1 year.  I also am an occasional babysitter on weekends and I've helped children with their homework and school projects! I have experience with Autistic, Diabetic, learning disabilities, and deaf/hard of hearing children (and other children with different types of disabilities).  

My educational background: I graduated from UMBC with my B.A. in Psychology. I graduated from GW for my master's degree in Transition in Special Education with teaching certification for learning, emotional, non-categorical K-12, and intellectual disabilities. I currently teach full time in Fairfax County Public Schools. I have many references for babysitting - I have been babysitting since I was 13 years old. I also worked in a daycare for 8 months, but I decided I liked being a nanny/babysitter much better because I get an attachment with the family and children... whereas you cannot get that in the daycare as much. I also get the benefit to watch the children grow as individuals!!! They grow up so fast!  


Age Specific Experience

14 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Dwarfism
  • Dyslexia
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
  • Hearing Loss
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Seizures
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Injection Assistance
  • Insulin Injections
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Sign Language
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 3/7/16

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Sign Language

Additional Services:

  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
  • Sign Language
Jump to Top
Laura C.
Laura C.
Arlington, VA 22203

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now