JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Mary Kate A.

Nanny in Arlington, VA 22204.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Arlington, VA

  • Age 30
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within a month

Preferred Rate $680-$1400 per week

Mary Kate’s Bio

I have been nannying over a decade. I have worked part time, full time, and on as needed basis such as date night or temp care.

I have worked every circuit you can think of: Vacation Bible School, church camp counselor as well as at private school for a summer program. I was an Au Pair for a family in Ireland for six months, worked for a babysitting agency in Memphis for 4 years, 1.5 years in Saint Louis and now here in Arlington (Metropolitan Nannies) in addition to Sitter City which I have been part of since 2007.

Sitter City has me on their on-demand sitter service called HelloChime. Out of 5 nannies they interviewed; only 1 gets qualified and I am one of them. For more info on me + reviews + video, please see the link.

https://app.chme.io/s/mary-allen-mehryar

I work independently mainly as a word of mouth nanny with no committed schedule to one family. However, I have many families that use me on a regular basis when they need the extra assistance or have me committed to long term gigs for temp use sometimes even spanning for 6 months.

Childcare is an ongoing learning experience because I am presented with the opportunity to interact with so many different types of families that are so diverse. Whether it is in culture, religious beliefs, or just the upbringing of their children, I get to see it all and I feel it educates me. I love learning and teaching children or even learning from children that I sit for.

I enjoy nannying all types of children aging from only a few days to teens. I do not have a problem babysitting special needs children; my eldest stepbrother has Cerebral Palsy, and I assisted in taking care of him while growing up, so I can relate to the challenges of the day to day tasks it takes.

A few of my qualifications are from the first part of my Bachelor's education was in Early Childhood Education emphasis for the first 2.5 years of my undergrad. I changed it to Non-Profit Mgmt a little bit later when I got involved with St. Jude.

I love animals and have no problem being around them or assisting with them. I do not smoke nor do I have any allergies that prohibit me from work in all types of environments. I am CPR/AED certified, and I have my own transportation which is good for running kids around to different activities.

Please note I work with one family at a time and do not do nanny shares unless otherwise specified and discussed.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Delayed Speech
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Dwarfism
  • Hearing Loss
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Premature Newborn
  • Seizures
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Feeding Tube
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Injection Assistance
  • Insulin Injections
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Repositioning
  • Sign Language
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 2/29/16

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Farsi

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
Jump to Top
Mary Kate A.
Mary Kate A.
Arlington, VA 22204
30

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $680-$1400 per week

  • Basic Background Check

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now