JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Karen C.

Nanny in Burke, VA 22015.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Burke, VA

  • Age 68
  • 4 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

Karen’s Bio

I am a mother of two adult children, a boy & a girl, & believe in creating a happy & peaceful environment for children to learn, explore & be creative. I have enjoyed every phase of my children's lives. I raised them in a positive, non-critical, loving home, & they have grown-up to be happy, caring & responsible adults. In college, I studied psychology & took courses such as, Early Childhood Development. I am young at heart & get along well with infants to teens providing a calm & respectful environment for them. I am fun-loving & appreciate the needs of children. Being a very good listener, allows me to learn about their likes & dislikes, quickly. I am always ready to read or play with them, & enjoy helping, if needed, w/homework. I would be happy to drive your child(ren) to their activities, or other appointments. Preparing snacks & meals are no problem.
Prior to being a Nanny, I worked for The Transportation Security Admin. (TSA) & the Department of the Navy & held both a Secret Clearance & a Homeland Security Clearance during the past 30 years. As you probably know, that means that I have had separate & extensive background checks for both of these clearances. However, I have also provided you with a background check through this site. I have worked as a full-time (40+ hrs) Nanny taking care of as many as four children at a time, ranging in ages from 20 months to 8 years; I have been a Nanny and/or Sitter for babies, pre-kindergarteners, elementary school children, and teenagers taking them to lessons, doctor appointments, shopping, movies, the pool, bowling, playgrounds, and nature centers. I have also worked as a Mother’s Helper taking care of a young baby freeing her mother to do other choirs in and out of the home. I am certified in CPR and FIRST AIDE.
I will be available to start a new position on September 8th, when children return to school.
I have excellent references from my past and present employers, and would be happy to share both their letters of recommendation and contact information with you.
Thank you for your time. I look forward to hearing from you.


Age Specific Experience

4 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Alzheimer's
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Hearing Loss
  • Heart Defects
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mobility Challenges

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 10/4/15

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies


Michelle K. is a reference for Karen C. Relationship: Client
Richard D. is a reference for Karen C. Relationship: Client
Jump to Top
Karen C.
Karen C.
Burke, VA 22015

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now