JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Karen C. - Burke Nanny

Basic Background Check

Karen C. Nanny in Burke, VA 22015. Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Burke, VA

  • Age 65
  • 4 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Today

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Karen’s Bio

I am the mother of two adult children, a boy & a girl, & believe in creating a happy & peaceful environment for them to learn, explore & be creative. I enjoyed every phase of my children's lives. I raised them in a positive, non-critical, loving home, & they have grown-up to be happy, caring & responsible adults. In college, I studied psychology & took courses such as, Early Childhood Development. I am young at heart & get along well with infants to teens providing a calm & respectful environment for them. I am fun-loving & appreciate the needs of children and I am a very good listener, so I learn about their likes & dislikes, quickly. I am always ready to read or play with them, & enjoy helping, if needed, with homework.I would be happy to drive your child(ren) to their activities. Preparing snacks & meals are no problem.Before becoming a Nanny/Babysitter I worked for The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) and the Department of the Navy & have held both a Secret Clearance and a Homeland Security Clearance during the past 30 years. As you probably know, that means that I have had separate & extensive background checks for both of these clearances. However, I have also provided you with a background check through this site for your added peace of mind. Most recently, I have been a full time (40+ hrs) nanny to four children, 8, 6, 3, & 20 months old. I do the families laundry, dishes, and vacuuming. As well as, feeding breakfast & lunch. I helped the children with homework & played with them inside and outside. They are a wonderful family & I will miss the children & their parents very much, but they are moving. Prior to that, I took care of a nine year old boy for 4 to 6 hour in the afternoon & evening. Helping him with homework & studying for tests; researching & helping him with school projects; taking him to his after school activities; preparing his dinner; playing games with him after homework; and getting him ready for bed. I loved being part of his life. He had lots of energy & was full of fun. Unfortunate for me, his mother's situation changed & she no longer needed childcare. Please read her review on this site under 'ratings and reviews'. I will be available mid-June for a new full-time nanny position. Please message me with any questions or concerns, I would be very happy to talk with you on the phone, in-person, or through messages. Thank you for your time. KarenC

Experience

Age Specific Experience

4 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Dressing Assistance

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 7/12/14

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

References

Michelle K. is a reference for Karen C. Relationship: Client
Richard D. is a reference for Karen C. Relationship: Client
Jump to Top