JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sarah L.

Nanny in Glen Allen, VA 23059.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Glen Allen, VA

  • Age 40
  • 25 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Last week

Preferred Rate $15-$40 per hour

Sarah’s Bio

I am originally from the state of Maine and have been living in Richmond since 2004 and since 2009 have been watching various children in Richmond, VA ranging in age from new-born to middle school age. I have a B.A. in Psychology (concentration Child Psychology) from Hollins University Class 2000. I graduated in 2011 from VCU with my MBA. I was raised in a home where my mother provided child care services to schoolteachers’ children. Both my parents taught; father is now retired. My mom did daycare so she could be home with us growing up. At the age of 12, I began baby-sitting. While in college, I baby-sat professors' children as well as did part-time nannying for families. Initially out of school, I counseled adults and continued to baby-sit. I have worked as a lead teacher in a nursery school and as a teacher in an after-school program in NOVA. I worked as a membership manager for the Girl Scout Councils in Massachusetts and Virginia. In 2004 I entered into the business world doing accounting/cost accounting/analysis. I like working with children and they seem to enjoy me. I am active in my church Wednesday evenings with Kids Club and once a month Thursdays for adults with disabilities; I volunteer as well with VBS, Kids Track & Field, Nursery and Sunday school. I am reliable, responsible; take childcare and watching children seriously. I devote my time with the children; to the children I am watching. I like to have fun with the children but also do not shy away from being serious when needed. Children seem to 'love' me and I them. I am hands on; do not care much for having children placed in front of TV. I am always looking for ways to teach children while playing with them. Even young babies I sing ABCs, verbalize colors, count, etc. I'm responsible and reliable. I love being outdoors, active in sports, games, crafts, art and reading books etc. I am very knowledgeable with planned activities, teaching basics and strive to have children enjoying themselves while learning as well as behaving and showing respect to one another. I myself am a 'kid at heart'!


Age Specific Experience

25 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech
  • Down Syndrome
  • Dyslexia
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 2/19/18

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


Joe B. is a reference for Sarah L. Relationship: Friend
Mary A. is a reference for Sarah L. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Sarah L.
Sarah L.
Glen Allen, VA 23059

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$40 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now