JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Meriwether B.

Nanny in Portsmouth, VA 23707.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

  • Military Veteran Branch of Service: Navy

    Military Veteran Branch of Service: Navy

Portsmouth, VA

  • Age 53
  • 9 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within four months

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Meriwether was EXTREMELY caring of our daughter for over 6 months and always kept our child's well being and saf...

- Brittani K.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $1-$15 per hour

Meriwether’s Bio

I am an empty-nest mother to one perfect son (!) who lives away at college.

I have cared for the children of military officers and enlisted, doctors and university professors. I have been caring for children part-time since 2005, and nannying since 2011.

I have also worked as a substitute teacher in the public schools of central Massachusetts and for a private school in Virginia Beach. Additionally I worked two years as a Court Appointed Special Advocate for Children for the Chesapeake Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court.

Dogs, pets of any kind are a pleasure not a burden - I have three large dogs, one bird, and several goldfish!

Note: if there is no background check badge it is because they expire every 90 days and there is a significant charge to renew. I am happy to run them upon request, so please feel free to ask!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

9 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Down Syndrome
  • Hearing Loss
  • Visual Impairment

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Available to start on 10/19/2015

Availability

My availability is valid through 1/15/16

  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • French

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
  • French

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Meriwether was EXTREMELY caring of our daughter for over 6 months and always kept our child's well being and safety at the forefront. Our daughter thrived under Meri's care and enjoyed many engaging and stimulating indoor/outdoor activities including craft time, walks around the neighborhood, and excursions around town. Meri kept a detailed journal of everything done during the day and emailed us a picture of our daughter everyday as well. We are truly thankful for the wonderful care she provided.

- Brittani K.
Jump to Top
Meriwethe...
Meriwether B.
Portsmouth, VA 23707
53

years
of age

9

years experience

Preferred Rate $1-$15 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

  • Military

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now