Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Nanny in Richmond, VA 23224

Meet Octavia

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! My name is Octavia. I am a first year Masters student at VCU studying Social Work. I am currently available for a part time position, on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. I would prefer 6-8 hours a day. I am not just looking for a job but a family. I love meeting positive role models such as parents and meeting new families because I always take a little something back to my own. I am not a tv babysitter, I use screen time as an incentive when all things necessary are done. I believe in responsibilities no matter the age. I like to be active and get outside. I like a set schedule so children know what to expect. I make my own lesson plans and I know how to make learning fun. I am a fun babysitter but I am always firm. I have tons of experience with all Read more ages, reliable transportation and I also have my CPR/first aid certification. I have a few certificates from various social work trainings, such as teaching children emotional regulation and trauma-informed care. I have a clean background and an equally clean driving record. I am also willing to do whatever you need me to between babysitting. I can do light housekeeping, laundry, organize, errands, meal prep, whatever you may need. I'm patient, responsible and trustworthy with great references to prove it! I have a lot to offer and I have great references to prove it! Thank you so much for your time and I look forward to hearing from you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 4/24/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Andrea R.


Octavia, is an awesome sitter , she is super patient and fun. Mi kids love her. :)

Emily H.


If you need a last minute babysitter she is AWESOME! We needed a last minute babysitter and Octavia responded to us letting us know she was available. When she says she is last minute she truly means it. We contacted her late at night and when she asked when we needed her we responded with now would be great and she was there immediately. It was my son’s first time having a babysitter and when we left he didn’t cry or fuss. She also stayed late (3am) and was really pleasant. I am grateful to have found her as a babysitter and we are looking forward to using her again.


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$16-$18/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Diabetes
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Social work

Virginia Commonwealth University 2019

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Octavia's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now