JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Kellie D.

Nanny in Shelton, WA 98584.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Shelton, WA

  • Age 48
  • 1 year paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $8-$12 per hour

Kellie’s Bio

My husband and I have two children, our youngest was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes at the age of 17 months and had a rare complication of brain swelling which made him unable to move a muscle in his body, recognize us, and we were told he would remain that way and never learn anything.  The doctors were wrong.  Because he was under 2 and his brain was still growing and making new connections and we worked with him non stop to re-teach him things, he eventually was able to hold his head up on his own again, walk, feed himself, learn, etc...  He died 10 years later after the same brain swelling complication happened when he caught the flu.  If you had seen him before he died you would have never known all he had been through because he was healthy and normal with the exception of his diabetes.
I have completed one year of study in graduate level classes in early childhood education.  I am first aid/cpr/aed certified.  I passed background and central registry (child abuse) checks in August 2011 for employment with a partnership program between the University of Alabama School of Social Work and the State of Alabama Department of Youth Services.


Age Specific Experience

1 year of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

2 to 3 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Age groups: Toddler, Youth
Has own special needs child
Years of Experience: 6 to 10 years

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Diabetes
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Learning Disabilities

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Injection Assistance
  • Insulin Injections
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 3/16/15

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help
Jump to Top
Kellie D.
Kellie D.
Shelton, WA 98584

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $8-$12 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now