Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Babysitter in Washington, DC 20024

Meet Bethany

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Bethany, I was born in San, Antonio TX and raised in Wilmington, Delaware. I came to the DMV a for undergrad at George Mason University and have been in the area ever since, from Reston to Arlington to SE and now SW DC so I'm very familiar with the city and metro area! Education: I have a BS in Global and Community Health from GMU. I'm nearly done with my MPH program at GW, focusing on Global Health Program Management. Work: I work full-time in global health with an NGO in Rosslyn as a program officer for their center for health logistics- I support a portfolio of 6 global health supply chain projects across Africa and Southeast asia and organize our new business efforts. I travel 2-3 times/year for couple weeks each to support my projects in-country. Family: I have a pretty large family, including a twin Read more sister, a sister 16-months younger (practically a triplet) and a surprise brother who is 10 years younger. That being said, I witnessed all phases of youth and development as I helped to raise my younger brother. Childcare background: Aside from raising my little brother, I started being a mother's helper after doing a YMCA Red Cross babysitting course when I was 13 and have been doing paid babysitting and nannying consistently ever since. I LOVE children- from infants to toddlars to pre-teens- it is so enriching and rewarding to spend time with kids, to keep them active, to teach them things and to have fun! By growing up with a younger brother I witnessed the whole spectrum of childhood and feel comfortable caring for kids in any phase.  I was a senior camp counselor for kids between 5-15 which provided me with a plethora of fun activities, games, and songs. I also nannied and babysat consistently throughout high school and college- and have worked with kids from angelic to extremely difficult personalities. I love the challenge of creating fun but engaging and educational activities for kids of different personalities, and also groups of kids at different levels. Interests: Health, physical activity, and wellness represent a constant thread in my personal and professional life. I like to keep screen time to a minimum, exercise often (run, yoga, swim, gym) read, and spend time with friends exploring DC. I l like photography, swimming, cooking, playing piano, and singing.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available evenings and weekends

Ratings & reviews

Bethany doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Masters in Public Health

George Washington University 2012

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Bethany's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now