JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Babysitter in Washington, DC 20036

Meet Mara

  • Speaks French and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I'm a 26 year old college graduate who recently moved to the DC area. I'm looking to work part-time as a babysitter during the day, and occasional weekends. I've been babysitting for over 5 years for many different families, and some families for the entire period.  I'm warm, friendly, fun, and nurturing- but I'm not afraid to set boundaries and act as an authority figure.  Here's an example of my babysitting style/system: One family (who I worked with for 3 years) had three high energy children that could never agree on an activity and all competed for my attention. I made sure to choose interactive movies that engaged all three when there was poor weather, or we would go outside and play balloon soccer (I'd blow up a balloon and you play soccer/kickball and its not allowed to touch the pavement.) I always made sure to discuss subjects of interest Read more to all three kids, ask questions and not leave any child out. The family was quite upset when I told them about my move and what it meant for their babysitter options.   I'd be a good fit for almost any family, although I get along best with parents that are involved and active in their children's lives, who are perhaps amicable and have a good sense of humor.   

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Mara doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

International Relations/French

SUNY College at Geneseo

Additional services

  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

Share Mara's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now