Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 28 years paid experience
  • Age 56
  • Babysitter in Elk Grove Village, IL 60007

Meet Maria

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets

I have been babysitting for the last 25 years. I will care for your child as if it is mine. Also I am punctual and have 2 teenage daughters of my own which I adore. If needed I will do light housekeeping if needed. References upon Request.... Thank you, Maria

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification



  • Generally available mornings
  • Daytime care availability during summer months


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/7/19

Ratings & reviews

3.5 3.5 stars











Ashley Y.


Maria nannied for us for about two months every other week. The positives were that she was punctual and not abusive to our daughter, but she didn't want to work more than 8 hours/day, which if you work in the city with the commute is hard. Started out okay, but then decided she was going to do things her way - or maybe there was a language barrier, one or the other. I had to write out the order in which she should feed, put her down for naps, and play daily and ask her to take notes of the times of things. Multiple times my daughter was not fed on time (or even at all before she'd try to put her down for her next nap) or changed, and she'd wonder why she was fussy (am happy to provide situational details). My house was always messier than when I left in the morning when I got home, which I didn't ask her to clean for us but to straighten up after the baby would be expected. She multiple times would tell me when I got home from my work day how tired she was - which I told her I didn't care, to which she lashed out at me and called me "abusive" and "evil" when I told her we needed her to follow our doctor's sleep recommendation schedule and questioned how we were sleep training our daughter saying it was wrong - NOT for her to decide. We had cameras in our house which she did not like, and she would take her on long "walks" (for hours), and even if I asked her to return home she wouldn't until our daughter was crying, just to get out of the house. Unacceptable! Probably would be better with older kids not infants. Am happy to discuss if anyone has questions about the specific situations.

Sarah R.


It is wonderful to have such a loving person care for my children, who are both under two. Maria is responsible and my kids love her.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$12-$15/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)





Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Maria's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now