Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Babysitter in Elmwood Park, IL 60707

Meet Jennifer

  • Speaks Portuguese and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Jennifer! I love working with kids! I’m a nationally certified paramedic and recently resigned from my full-time 911 position to focus on my education. With that I am seeking occasional and part time employment in caring for children and youth. I am one semester away from completing my bachelor’s degree from SIU-Carbondale in Public Safety Management. I plan on continuing my education by focusing on Pre-Med Curriculum and taking the MCAT, so I may apply for med school in the next couple of years. I currently work part time for Oakton Community College as an EMT Mentor where I aid in teaching EMT Students. I also volunteer weekly at Mercy Home for Boys and Girls as a Job Lab Tutor for youth age 16 to 22. I have not nannied in recent years with a full-time work schedule, part time work schedule, and full-time college courses. But, Read more in past years I nannied and babysat for children age 3 to 14 years old. I also worked for Chicago Public Schools as a Child Welfare Aid, for the Chicago Park District as a year-round Lifeguard, and for Advocate Children’s Hospital Outpatient Center as a Medical Assistant. So, although I thankfully did not encounter children frequently in emergencies as a full-time paramedic, I have a lot of experience working with children and I’m passionate about helping the children in our community to flourish. My interests include modern art, live music, and exercising. I also have basic language skills in Brazilian Portuguese and Spanish.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired. Last completed on 01/24/2015.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 02/28/2020.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Expired. Last completed on 01/21/2015.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 1/1/20

Ratings & reviews

Jennifer doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$18-$21/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Cystic Fibrosis
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Multiple Sclerosis
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Bachelors in Public Safety Management

Southern Illinois University Carbondale 2020

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Jennifer's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now