Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 14 years paid experience
  • Age 33
  • Babysitter in Bloomington, IN 47404

Meet Michelle

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I began taking care of my younger brothers and sisters when I was 5 years old. I am the second oldest of 6 children. My older sister and I were sole caretakers for a period of every day by the time we were in double digits. I began babysitting neighborhood children when I was 13 and continued to be the "neighborhood nanny" until I moved out at 18. I periodically cared for children of friends afterward. I had my first child 12 days after my 21st birthday and I had 3 children by the time I was 24. I am trained but not certified in CPR, first aid, and the Heimlich. However, I would be willing to get my certification if need be. I lost my house, everything I owned, and my children's father, all at the same time, so I took my children to my parents' house. My income Read more is not enough to provide for them, so I am going back to my roots to supplement it and begin to stand on my feet in order to take over as a single mom. I was born with a rare form of muscular dystrophy that limits my ability to stand for long periods or do repetitive motions for hours a day every day, which limits me in the type of work I am able to do. This is why I prefer a more domestic position than your average 9-5. I have no problem accomplishing day to day tasks for myself and/or for children. I am willing to care for up to 3 children at once. I am also willing to care for a sick child if need be. I have a lot of love to give, especially since my own children are so far away right now. I am respectful of your time, as well as your particular parenting style. I am willing to work with your needs and desires. I do smoke, but only outside, and I am currently in the process of executing a stop smoking plan. I hope to be smoke free by April.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 4/18/14

Ratings & reviews

Michelle doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$7-$12/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Multiple Sclerosis
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Premature Newborn
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Interior Design

Attended Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Michelle's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now