JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 1 year paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Babysitter in Columbia, MD 21044

Meet Maria

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi, my name is Maria. I'm a college graduate who just moved to Maryland for Graduate school. I was a nanny for a year while I was in college and when I graduated I became an ABA(Applied Behavioral Analysis) Therapist, working one to one in an elementary school with Autistic children. I have worked with children in preschools, elementary schools, middle schools, and high school levels. I interned at youth after school programs for middle school aged children and enjoyed coming up with activities that were both age appropriate, enjoyable, and educational for them. Working with small children both as a Nanny and an ABA Therapist, I learned and quickly adapted to both verbal and nonverbal communication coming from a child. I assisted in potty training, meal preparation, cleaning, nap and bedtime routines. As an ABA Therapist I gained so much experience working with children who could not always communicate Read more their wants or needs, with words. I learned quickly how to help them attain what they needed while aiding them in the process and making sure that their human dignity and well-being were always my number one priority. I was also in charge of socializing the children by coming up with ways to work on social skills with peers. I enjoy working with all age ranges. I enjoy making sure kids are still kids in a society where technology is so readily available. I enjoy taking kids outside to play, encouraging use of their imagination, and being active.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Maria doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$12-$15/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Social Work

Graduated Western Connecticut State University 2013

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Maria's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now