Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Age 20
  • Babysitter in Temple Hills, MD 20748

Meet Serenity

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

2013 was the first year that I started working with children, aside from watching my nieces and nephews. I was 14 at the time and quickly came to find just how much I enjoyed kids. After I graduated high school, which was in 2017, I got a full-time job working at a child development center called, Kids' Safari Learning Center, located in Cottage Grove, Wisconsin. Here I learned everything I needed to know and more about children. Not only hands-on but academically. As it was required I took a course to earn my early education licensing in the state of Wisconsin. Every day, I worked with infants as young as six weeks to children as old as 12 years old. Infant and toddler care was in the morning, and preschool to school-age care was in the afternoon. I made monthly schedules for each age group, ranging from breakfast and lunch Read more schedules to stem focused learning activities. I wish there such thing as receiving certification for making learning fun! After a year of working at Kids' Safari Learning Center, I moved to the DMV area for better job opportunity and pay. I first started in sales and quickly began to miss the upbeat environment I was in with the children. So after several months, I found myself working with school-age children at the Boys & Girls Club of Greater Washington. The kids were absolutely wonderful, and I created so many bonds with them and their families, but it was part-time and I was not making ends meet. So, I found an at home daycare center that offered more hours. I've been here for six months and am loving it. I work with infants and toddlers up to the ages of three, and again focus on monthly stem activities to help them learn as much as they can before they are off to preschool. I am currently enrolled in Quorom to recieve my assistant teachers certification for Washington, D.C. and I have CPR certifications for D.C. as well. As much as I love working at centers, I am eager to find a family to Nanny for; as I do miss the relationships built with past families.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 7/17/19

Ratings & reviews

Serenity doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 1 child per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Attended Madison Area Technical College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Serenity's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now