Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 34 years paid experience
  • Age 52
  • Babysitter in Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Meet Sherry

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi my name is Sherry,I was in Daycare for 25 years, and worked for the same people .I have worked from Infants(3 weeks- up), toddlers, two's and three's , 4's, 5year old, and the older school age also. I have also worked with special needs children with Autism, ADHD / ADD, I have got CPR/FIRST AIDE, SIDS, playground procedures and many other certificates Nine years ago I decided to get out of daycare and take on a new challenge in my life, so with that said I took a chance and applied for a Nanny position and it has been an experience that I would recommend everyone to do. As of right now I am a Full Time Nanny Monday - Friday and on the weekends I have other families that I Nanny for if needed. I could never have children so when I moved to NC 34 years ago. Read more I decided that I wanted to take care of children since I could not have my own.I got a job as a daycare teacher on the first try ,become the Assitant Manager until they were forced to close down due to health issues.I then decided 8 years ago I wanted to get out of the daycare business for a while and took on a whole new career as a FULL TIME NANNY and absolutely love it. It was something new to me even though I had been in daycare for so long and I was leery at first about it being labeled as a "Nanny" but I would not change it for anything. I love children and this is what my calling has always been and not being able to have my own, made me want to get into the profession and love children as if they were mine and it has been a blessing for me. As I was always told "YOUR CHILDREN ARE MINE CHILDREN AND YOU SHOULD TREAT THEM AS THEY WERE MY OWN"... I believe after almost 33 years of taking care of someone else's children that statement is so very true. To this day I still have children that I had all those years ago come up to me when they see me and say "HI MS. SHERRY and that right there will put a tear in my eyes everytime...

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired. Last completed on 11/30/2018.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 07/05/2016.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/3/20

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Anthony C.

12/1/2018

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Cystic Fibrosis
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dwarfism
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Multiple Sclerosis
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

TEACHING

Attended

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Sherry's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now