Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 11 years paid experience
  • Age 32
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11221

Meet Alexandra

  • Speaks French and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

I've been working as a nanny and tutor since 2005, and have worked with infants to pre-teens, as a sporadic, part-time sitter all the way up to a full-time traveling nanny. I worked as a first grade teacher at Saint Ann's in Brooklyn last year, but I didn't resign my contract as I gave birth to a son in July. I would love to be able to bring my baby to work with me---for a lower rate of course, and I could potentially only bring him for part of the time. If that isn't possible, I understand. I went to undergrad at Barnard College studying literature, and have an MFA in Fiction Writing and an MA in Literature from Columbia University. I love to write and read, and I tend to focus on reading and pretend play when I'm with kids (unless they're the more active kind, in which case Read more I'm up for anything :)) I'm proficient in both French and Spanish. My main priority is perfecting that blend of respect and fun, and keeping kids safe!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 5/21/14

Ratings & reviews

Alexandra doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$30/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs

Education

Graduated Barnard College 2009

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • French
    • Spanish

Share Alexandra's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now