Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Age 24
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11218

Meet Allanah

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets

Being an only child, I come from a small family: My father, Allan, is a recent retiree from the New York City Metropolitan Authority and my mother, Neera, has been in the caregiving business for over 15 years. Within the next 2-3 years I plan to further my education by pursuing a Masters degree. I have an idea about what I'd like to study, but my future concentration is still up for debate. At the moment, I'd like to take some time away from academics and focus more on achieving, gaining more life experience. This will allow me time to do some self reflection on my future educational and professional orientation. Growing up I was incredibly athletic. I participated on several teams including swimming, soccer, ice hockey, and lacrosse. Some of these sports have presented opportunities that were rewarding. Most specifically, in high school I traveled to Guatemala on a Read more service trip to teach children English, as well as teach them the sport of lacrosse. While the ability to travel to Guatemala was special in itself, the trip became that much better when I saw my students faces light up every time I entered the class room or playing field. Aside from my abroad trip, I have experience in childcare both formally and informally. I've worked for a series of camps teaching kids how to play soccer or ice hockey in a range of ages (5-15 years old ). At these camps not only did we focus on the sport, but we also took part in other recreational indoor and outdoor activities including arts and crafts, drama, and singing. While getting tutored for the SATs, I became a volunteer tutor for elementary school kids, providing homework help in math and English. In an informal setting, I've been a babysitter/nanny for a number of families, ranging from ages 12 months-9 years, both in the city and in Brooklyn. All of my experiences with families have been positive, often leading to other opportunities with friends of the family. I can comfortably say that I sincerely enjoy spending time with children. Some of the most valuable lessons I've learned in life have been delivered innocently by children. Learning from the youth is always something I look forward to.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability


  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Available to start on 1/30/2019
  • My availability is valid through 4/29/19

Ratings & reviews

Allanah doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting


  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)



St. Lawrence University 2017


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • Social studies

Share Allanah's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now