JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 7 years paid experience
  • Age 32
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11215

Meet Sayoko

  • Speaks English and Japanese
  • Comfortable with pets

Hello everyone, I am looking for a part-time position. I've been babysitting children of various age groups mostly after school hours for over 7 years including with child with behavior/sensational issues. Please see my experience below. I took care of four years old boy who had behavior/sensational issues in the afternoons for a year and half. Before this, I took care of a six years old boy in the afternoons. Before that I was taking care of a 11 years old girl and a five years old boy for about 6 months. Before that I was taking care of 11years old girl in the after school hours for two years. Before that I was an Au pair for two years. During my first au pair year, I took care of a seven year old girl and a four year old boy, and during my second au pair year, I took Read more care of a three year old girl and a 14 month old baby girl. Now I am a nanny for a ten year old girl. I love playing with and taking care of children, and teaching them as well. I have a B.A. degree in Fashion and Design and I am fluent in English and Japanese. I play piano as well, and I am very active and love the outdoors.I am trained CPR and first aid and also have pilates certification. Please contact me for more information or to ask me any questions you may have. I'm looking forward to hearing from you!! Thank you.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

2.0 2.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

0

0

0

1

0

Stephen C.

3/21/2019

Sayoko was our 4 year old sons after school babysitter for the past year and a half. While she seemed to lack some very basic experience one would have expected of someone who had cared for young children to have, she was teachable and had an upbeat personality and positive attitude, at least initially. She was generally reliable although she was once late in picking our son up from school and exercised poor judgement in failing to contact us to let us know she would be late. In hindsight we should have replaced her then, but it was important to us that our son, who had come to love her have consistency. This is what makes the fact that she left us by sending a message informing us that she would not be returning so particularly upsetting. She gave us less than 24 hours notice. We were very good to Sayoko. Although we are not wealthy we paid her more than fairly. We paid her for many days when she did not work such as when our son was sick and whenever we travelled. Her paid time off amounted to more than 6 weeks this past year. We also welcomed her at family dinners, outings and she even came to thanksgiving dinner with us (as a guest) to a close friends home because she didn’t have anyone to spend the holiday with. When our son was experiencing some behavioral difficulties a few months back, we were transparent about our concerns and offered her constant support and training. She saw this as an opportunity to demand more money. As we were unable to afford it, we did not increase her salary. We believe this is why she eventually decided to leave. Sayoko placed our family in a very difficult position, and was immature at best in the way that she left. It was heartbreaking to see our son so upset over her leaving without saying goodbye. We are only writing this review in the hope that it will spare any other family who might be considering working with Sayoko a bad experience.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$20-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

Fashion and Arts

Graduated 2009

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Social studies
    • Japanese

Share Sayoko's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now