Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Glasco, NY 12432

Meet Pat Cabana

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a very active, young grandmother who would like to sit for date night, weddings etc. or PT days. I have a lot of experience with children of all ages especially infants. I have been caring for children for 20 yrs+ & raised my granddaughter who lived with me; she is now 19 and off to college. I took care two infants simultaneously for 1 1/2 years. Also I cared for neighborhood children as they grew, took care of an infant nephew for a year and recently took care of my 8-year-old grandson in AZ for a month while mom deployed in the US Army. I have sat for weddings, parties & events where there were several children & will travel at least 30 miles. I have taught religious education to 5th thru 8th grade so I know how to interact with those difficult ages. Please see my reviews Read more on this site. I am usually available for emergencies & last minute calls. I am prompt and dependable, will give your child great care and can furnish current references.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 09/05/2014

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 09/12/2014

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/18/17

Ratings & reviews

4.9 4.9 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

13

1

0

0

0

Emily And Sam M.

10/17/2021

Responsive, friendly and great to work with. Would recommend and use again when in the area

Katie H.

7/14/2017

We rarely use a babysitter and hired Pat to watch our one-year-old for two nights in a row for a wedding. She was incredibly intuitive and caring, and Aurelia love her! She put us all at ease and we would definitely recommend her to anyone!

Sandra J.

9/30/2016

We came up for a long holiday weekend in Woodstock for a family get together and needed babysitting for our two boys (4 and 1 yrs old). Pat ended up being booked by the time I got to her but she recommended her friend Sheila who did a great job with both boys. (Older son has some extra needs and the baby was a crawling toddling active guy. The older child still talks about her and requests jazz music, like Ms. Sheila. She introduced him to Miles Davis to help him sleep.) Sheila says Pat is the pro and that she just helps out occasionally. Very thankful for both these ladies. Highly recommend!

Jennifer D.

6/8/2016

Pat, was terrific. She was very sweet with the kids and took charge of my nephew toddler and baby cousin. The kids had a lot of fun and all the adults were able to enjoy themselves. She was on time, communicated well and flexible in the planning process!

Lauren M.

9/6/2015

Pat was a lifesaver this summer when we needed help looking after our 4 and 1 year olds. She managed to take care of them both at the same time even though their needs are different, and she even brought fun toys for our older kid to play with. He keeps asking if she'll come back.

Kristen L.

9/3/2015

Pat stepped in for a week while we were on vacation to take care of an ever changing group of kids (sometimes two 3 year olds; sometimes a 3 and 6 year old; and sometimes just one 3 year old). All age groups/combinations adored Pat and the kids would yell her name and run outside when she pulled into the driveway. Pat is wonderfully low key and seemingly unflappable. The kids were happy for us to leave (and we were happy to have some adult vacationing) and the kids were happy and entertained when we returned. I give Pat a glowing 5 star review and I hope we get to see her again soon!

Kathryn M.

5/18/2015

Pat watched our 2 kids (4 years and 20 months) when we recently visited family in Red Hook - she was enthusiastic and caring and we were happy to have found such a wonderful sitter while we were in town.

Caroline J.

9/2/2014

Pat sat for our two kids + our friend's son when we were staying in the Poughkeepsie area for the weekend. The kids were sleeping when she arrived so this time there was no interaction with them but the 3 parents felt they were in good hands. She was there on time, seemed very experienced and had a very no non sense and relaxed attitude. She was also a very nice and interesting person to chat with, which is always a plus ,-) We would definitly used her again if we come back to the area and recommend her to any parents. Caroline, mother of 2

Tanya T.

7/20/2014

Pat took care of my 1 and 3 year old during a hectic wedding weekend. She was supremely calm and organized, and took excellent care of my children with very little direction.

Nicholas K.

6/25/2014

Pat saved our wedding! After weeks of search by word of mouth for a sitter (in a town that we do not live in) and and coming up with no good leads we needed to find a last minute sitter in the Hudson area two days before our wedding for out of town guests. Pat answered our inquiry within an hour and agreed to watch two toddlers at the house we had rented. Pat was very punctual and did a wonderful job caring for my young cousins. We would highly recommend her!

Lauren P.

6/23/2014

Pat is a fantastic sitter with lots of experience and an absolute pleasure to work with! She watched our four-month old this past weekend on Fri and Sat while we were in town for a wedding and I honestly can't say enough great things... I contacted her very last minute and she was incredibly flexible and accommodating. She consistently went above and beyond (txting me the night of to tell me the day had gone well and our daughter was happily asleep, choosing to deal with the mess of feeding her some of her first solid foods, despite my being honest about it creating extra work for her, clothing-wise, mess-wise, etc.) This was our first time leaving our daughter with a non-family member sitter and Pat really made it incredibly easy and put our worries to rest. She's great. I would definitely recommend getting in touch with her if you're ever looking for a sitter in the Hudson/Rhinebeck area!

Lindsay C.

5/13/2014

Pat came over on very short notice (when our usual caregiver got sick) to watch my exuberant, active daughter, Hazel, who is 15 months old. She asked great questions and got involved immediately. I liked that Pat was patient with Hazel, who can be a bit demanding at times. They spent tons of time outside, walking around and looking at the trees and spotting frogs and turtles. I'd have her back again.

Micah M.

4/2/2013

Pat helped take care of our two kids, ages 3 and 6, when we visited Rhinebeck on vacation. Highly recommended! She did a great job, is full of ideas about things to do, and the kids loved her!

Kara M.

8/7/2012

Pat took wonderful care of my kids, ages 4 and 1. My brother got married last weekend and Pat watched them while we were at the rehearsal dinner and the following day during the wedding reception. She kept the kids busy and engaged, fed them dinner and put them to bed. She was also tremendously flexible - staying later that we had initially discussed one night, and on the other night she even watched my cousins' 3 children after her sitter cancelled. Thank you Pat!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$18-$25/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

business

Attended

References

Additional services

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework

Share Pat Cabana's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now