Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Houston, TX 77081

Meet Jan

  • Licensed Vocational Nurse
  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi. I have been an LVN for many years now and also have pediatric experience, both in a doctor's office and while babysitting infants and children in the home. For a few years, I did gain more experience, while being on board, with a nanny agency. Engaging with the infants and children was a thrilling experience. Presently, I am seeking a full time position in nursing, allowing me to also give time to cheerfully babysit for awesome families! Child care is a part of my career, as I have a very maternal instinct that exudes love. I can appreciate parents wanting an experienced, loving, and conscientious sitter, as that is what I remember my parents hiring, when I was little. By being a caregiver/babysitter, this allows parents to take some time off for themselves, to relax and have some fun, knowing that their child/children are in the kind, patient, loving, Read more and responsible hands of a qualified person. I enjoy this kind of child care, because it gives me the chance to help children learn and also have fun with a credible sitter/playmate who takes joy in sharing her spare time with the younger generation. What makes me good at what I do? I feel that being kind, young-at-heart, loving, patient, reliable, dependable, a good listener, gentle, attentive, teachable, warm, trustworthy, and punctual, are all characteristics that would give families/parents peace of mind, when leaving their pride and joy, with a mature individual! As I remember, "Scamper the Dog", was my favorite children's book, while in first grade. I adored that book! Favorite games I played were, "Chutes N' Ladders", "Candy Land", and hopscotch on the sidewalk with my girlfriends. Favorite activities as a child were: riding bikes with neighbor's children, playing hide and go seek, dressing up our dolls, especially Barbie - that was really fun, watching American Bandstand on tv. Remember Frankie Valle? Oh...that voice!!! I am CPR, First Aid, and choking maneuver certified. Am experienced in giving medications and medical emergencies! Parents, when placing your posting, please, please write your "zip code" somewhere in the posting. This is very important to me, as I don't like driving too far, especially at night. I look forward to meeting new families, through this website. Thank you and happy babysitting to all. :-) P.S. I do not work when children are ill in any way. Please understand. Thank you.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 10/29/2019

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 08/13/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 07/21/2019

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/30/21

Ratings & reviews

4.0 4.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

0

0

0

1

Kristen K.

7/1/2021

Jan is a huge blessing for our family. She cares for our baby girl on a regular basis, and we could not be more pleased to have found her. She is extremely professional and punctual, as well as fully engaged and committed to providing excellent care for our daughter. She goes above and beyond to make sure that both my husband and I are updated on how our girl is doing so that we feel comfortable. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Jan.

Sean B.

12/19/2019

Krystan L.

2/12/2015

Jan is extremely professional and is certified in many areas. She has been available whether it's an emergency or planned event to watch my 2 year old son. She is caring, has a lot of experience, on-time and dependable. I highly recommend her services.

Dawnell C.

10/6/2014

Jan is an extremely kind and polite caregiver with excellent communication skills. Her demeanor with the children was wonderful. She responds promptly to email and telephone messages and even calls to confirm our plans without being asked! We would have her back any time with no reservations. She is polite, professional, prompt, helpful, and the kids like her! - Dawnell C.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$14-$15/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Cancer
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Seizures
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

All phases of nursing, including pediatrics.

Attended

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Jan's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now