Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 21 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in San Antonio, TX 78250

Meet Shawna

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi, I'm Shawna. I'm 55 years old. I love sitting/ teaching children. Even after 21 years, I can't imagine doing anything else. I'm kind and patient and I don't yell or use bad language. I have been married for 35 years. Our sons are 21 and 25. I have been dedicated to them but they are so busy now I hardly get to see them anymore. I thought I would enjoy all the free time after they were gone but I don't and they tell me that I'm not going to get to have grandkids anytime soon so I would love to take care of your children. From August 2021 until May 2022, I had a job picking up a 12 year old girl and her 10 year old brother from school and driving them to extra curricular activities Monday through Friday. but they moved to Nevada. Their mom left Read more a 5 star review for me on the Sittercity website. I also sat for a 4 and 7 year old since they were 3 and 6 but they moved to Colorado. Currently, I work at a church on Sunday mornings sitting for 1 through 5 year olds. I also sit for a 2 year old boy some Friday nights(his mom left a 5 star review on me) and a 3 year old boy every other Sat. night and a 1 yr. old boy on Tues. and Thurs. mornings. The school that I resigned from where I worked from 2012-2021 teaching 2, 3 and 4 year olds required me to be fingerprinted, have multiple background checks, 24 hours of childcare training every year and CPR and First Aid Training every 2 years. I can give you copies of those documents. Before that, I worked at a private school/Mother's Day Out Program for 10 years teaching preschoolers but I have experience with babies through teens as well because I was a nanny during the summers when school was out. I have 2 letters of recommedation but I can get more. I've been teaching/sitting for a total of 21 years for mostly preschoolers and toddlers at private schools and also for many families that went to the same church that I did and also for Sittercity. I have my own 3 year old reliable car, I was born and raised on a dairy I love pets and I don't mind if there are cameras and guns in your home. I am vaccinated but I can also wear a mask if you would like. I've never smoked, drank or done drugs. My number one goal is to keep your children safe while having fun just like I would if they were my own grandkids. I dress modestly and I don't charge a cancellation fee even if it's last minute, things happen. I always show up and I'm ether early or on time. Thank you for your time.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 12/08/2022

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 10/08/2022

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 12/07/2022

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/30/22

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Nidhi K.


She’s great with kids!! Loved her!!

Miranda F.


Shawna has been watching my 2.5 yo son for a few months on occasional date nights. She is so caring and sweet with my son and my husband and I fully trust her to watch him. She is always on time and willing to stay late when needed last minute. We highly recommend her services!

Krystal A.


Shawna has been an absolute blessing for our family! She’s always on time and great with my kids.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting


  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


Attended Tyler Junior College


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math

Share Shawna's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now