Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 51
  • Babysitter in Montpelier, VT 05602

Meet Jd

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I love working with kids and especially enjoy 1:1 interactions where my attention can be undivided and focused. I spent a rewarding year as PCA for a 5-year-old boy with down syndrome and am still in contact with their family, babysitting occasionally for him and his older brother. My current paying jobs, besides babysitting, are assistant director for Part 2 after school, Residential Counselor at a group home, and substitute teaching. All three have their own rewards, of course, but they involve larger groups of kids. Thinking of 1:1, as a volunteer, I mentor a student at Union Elementary through Everybody Wins VT, and a Doty Memorial student out in the community through Girls Boyz First. Volunteerism is important to me and I do what I can in the community. This includes doing Library outreach for All Together Now preschool, which involves selecting and bringing books to them and reading Read more aloud to the kids. I also volunteer for Children's Literacy Foundation (CLiF) and the Central Vermont Humane Society. I am comfortable with doing outside activities such as biking, swimming, and playing ball, and am I also equally comfortable inside with such things as Legos, puzzles, and crafts. I try to infuse anything I do with creativity, imagination, and wonder. Towards that pursuit, I hugely enjoy learning new things, making discoveries (including new music), and seeing what I can do to make things better. For getting around, I drive a 2017 CR-V that has AWD and numerous built-in safety features. Errands and transport are not a problem. I would love to talk with you more about your specific needs and answer any questions you might have. In the meantime, here is a link to my current resume https://drive.google.com/open?id=1qoSZ8GwiiugKVBv8jg7bnmBaLGCT3prF I look forward to hearing from you. Best, JD 802-505-3406

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification
  • University of Colorado Denver

    University of Colorado Denver

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Jd doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$35/hr

  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Down Syndrome
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Philosophy

Graduated University of Colorado Denver 2010

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Jd's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now