Sittercity Sign up
Pamela B., Care Companion in Alexander City, AL 35010 with 0 years paid experience

Pamela B. Care Companion in Alexander City, AL 35010

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

Alexander City, AL

  • 0 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within five months

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Pamela’s Bio

I have not done this professional but, I started out caring for my husband's grandmother. She was a wonderful Christian woman who had Alzheimer's. She required round the clock care, including all basic necessities, restroom help, changing, bathing, feeding, medications, etc. Mostly, she just needed someone to be with her, talk with her. Grandma passed away at the age of 80. Meanwhile, my mother and father in law both had health problems and I stepped in to help provide care. My father in law was up and about on his own, but needed help caring for my mother in law who had very aggressive diabetes, dementia, and many other health problems. After he passed, her care was in my hands. She required bandages on her legs, her catheter bag needed changing, she had several medications, I gave her insulin shots and checked her sugar often. I took care of all of her needs. When asked why I enjoy doing this? Because, everyone deserves to be in their home, with their family, everyone needs some one to care, to be their friend. At some point in our lives, we get to where we may need some help. Our older generation especially, we owe them they opportunity to live with dignity and respect. I believe that as long as it is possible, we should do what we can to make them feel comfortable and cared for. It's not just about seeing to a person's physical needs, but also being a friend, listening to their stories, participating and helping with any hobbies and activities they may enjoy, just making sure they are happy, giving them the opportunity to live a happy and fulfilled life. I believe everyone deserves this, and at the end of my day, if I made somebody smile, I too feel fulfilled. While I may not have done this professionally, I do feel that my time with my mother in law gave me experience in many of the basic medical care needed for in home care. Through my current job, I've been trained and certified in sanitation practices. I am physically very healthy, able to lift if needed, punctual, reliable. I look forward to the opportunity to work with you to ensure your loved one is cared for, your mind is at ease knowing and trusting that they are with someone who genuinely cares about their happiness and well being.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

0 years paid experience with:

  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Light housekeeping
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Diabetic Care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 11/30/20

  • Weekday Early Morning
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekends Daytime
Jump to Top
Pamela B.
Pamela B.
Alexander City, AL 35010
0

years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now