Sittercity Sign up
Nancy H., Care Companion in Boaz, AL 35956 with 10 years paid experience

Nancy H. Care Companion in Boaz, AL 35956

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

Boaz, AL

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $12 per hour

Nancy’s Bio

I have 10 yrs. experience caring for others. I take my job very serious because the well being of another is my responsibility. I believe in companionship. Through companionship comes smiles, laughter and so much more. We all have need of companionship in one form or another. It truly makes me feel warm inside when I am able to make someone else smile and laugh.
I have 10 yrs experience caring for a husband and wife. He had Dementia and she had Huntington's Disease. I learned so much in those years. First thing was getting to know them, their likes and dislikes. She was totally emobile and had to be put in the wheelchair to go from bed to chair.
When I started caring for them he was in the first stages of Dementia. I witnessed each stage of the disease. With each stage came new obstacles to overcome. Each dementia patient experiences are difference. I have a special place in my heart for Dementia patients. Together we took each day as they came.
I do not believe in forcing one do do anything they don't want to do, but yet some things must be done such as taking their medication. Patiences and understanding is the key for me, not force. Talking to them in a understanding way has alway helped me to do what should be done. No matter what, never should they be mistreated because they refuse to do what needs to be done. Alway use a level head, tempers should alway be left at home.
My duties were administering medication, preparing and feeding meals, baths, oral hygiene shampooing and styling hair, shaving, emptying urine bag, changing colostomy bag, cleaning, sweeping mopping, dusting, laundry.
I have no special training, or certificates.
I love caring for others for me it is so much more than a job.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years paid experience with:

  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Ostomy Care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 1/19/20

  • Open (all day, everyday)

References

Delana W. is a reference for Nancy H. Relationship: Client
Julie W. is a reference for Nancy H. Relationship: Co-worker
Jump to Top
Nancy H.
Nancy H.
Boaz, AL 35956
10

years experience

Home Care Rates $12 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now