Sittercity Sign up
Rachel A., Care Companion in Collinsville, AL 35961 with 0 years paid experience

Rachel A. Care Companion in Collinsville, AL 35961

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

Collinsville, AL

  • 0 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within three months

Home Care Rates $12 per hour

Rachel’s Bio

First thing you need to know about me is that I’m kind, patient, and I love helping others. I am single and unattached with few responsibilities. While this could translate to me lacking responsibility, it’s quite the opposite. I joined the National Guard in 2019 and I have recently returned from training. I have always and will continue to want to do something with my life that matters. Furthermore, due to the fair amount of personal freedom that I have, I feel I can use that to help others. My grandmother became sick in 2007 and through various traumatic physical events, ended up with dementia and where she could no longer live independently. As such, the most convenient would have been to just put her in a nursing home, as most people do. However, my dad wanted her to live a more quality life for the rest of her life and so he became her full-time caregiver. Doing this certainly put limitations on our lives but we had tried to put her in a nursing home at various points (dad had to go back to work), but her health would always steadily decline. I’m not saying anything bad about nursing homes. They are what they are; however, it was clear that she did much better at home. She was with us until 2014 when she peacefully passed. On top of that, I also have experience with children. Being single in a small southern town offers me the opportunity to help my friends out when they need it and the opportunity for childcare is legion. As such, I help when I can. Most of the kids who know me love me coming around because I play with them and treat them as equals. Certainly, when we are alone they still respect my authority, but I’ve never been a fan of talking to kids like they’re kids. I have found they respond much better when you talk to them on an equal level. I want to continue doing this and things like this as I feel it will continue to give my life meaning. Besides, taking care of someone else is most times fun. The elderly, they have a plethora of stories to tell. With kids, they give me a new appreciation for loving the simpler things and life and that having an adventurous imagination is always important.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

0 years paid experience with:

  • 75 to 84 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 12/6/20

  • Open (all day, everyday)

References

Anna B. is a reference for Rachel A. Relationship: Friend
Jamie P. is a reference for Rachel A. Relationship: Friend
Jump to Top
Rachel A.
Rachel A.
Collinsville, AL 35961
0

years experience

Home Care Rates $12 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now