Sittercity Sign up
Loryn D., Care Companion in Cottondale, AL 35453 with 12 years paid experience

Loryn D. Care Companion in Cottondale, AL 35453

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    CPR certification

Cottondale, AL

  • 12 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

Loryn’s Bio

My name is Loryn. I'm 33 years old. Born and raised in Tuscaloosa al. Roll tide!! I am a mother to 3 children, 2 - 8yr old twins and a 13 yr old. I first started caring for the elderly when I was 15 years old because my great aunt and uncle need some extra help around the house. It turned into a job I loved and stayed at for years. My aunt ended up with Alzheimer's disease and that's when I started studying about this awful disease and trying to learn how to make things easier for the person with the disease. I work with them til I was 21 years old, they passed away and the only job I worked at from that moment has been with the elderly. I love to hear their stories and how things used to be, and I love being able to be any help to them as I possibly can. I have a huge place in my heart for the elderly. My next job was with the lady that created La Rocca nursing home in Albert. I sat with her for years before the tornado came through and the family put her into a nursing home. I love helping people (especially the elderly), and a elderly caregiver is the only thing I've ever done and that's where my passion is. If you'd like to know more, feel free to ask.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

12 years paid experience with:

  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Diabetic Care

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Available to start on 4/21/2020

Availability

My availability is valid through 7/1/20

  • Weekday Early Morning
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English

References

Shirley D. is a reference for Loryn D. Relationship: Former Employer
Melissa W. is a reference for Loryn D. Relationship: Co-worker
Jump to Top
Loryn D.
Loryn D.
Cottondale, AL 35453
12

years experience

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now