Sittercity home Sign up
Leigh Ann G., Care Companion in Robertsdale, AL 36567 with 0 years paid experience

Leigh Ann G. Care Companion in Robertsdale, AL 36567

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    CPR certification

Robertsdale, AL (Robertsdale, AL • 13 miles away | will travel 25 mi)

  • 0 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within four months

Home Care Rates $40 per half day

Leigh Ann’s Bio

Hi, it's nice to meet you. I'm 48, and have recently celebrated my 30th wedding anniversary. We have 2 grown children.
I don't have actual "paid" experience in caring for the elderly, because the people I've cared for were family members. When I was in my early 20's, my grandmother had cancer, and I helped her in numerous ways. Physically I helped her accomplish simple tasks such as putting on her shoes, and later on, with helping her shift in the bed. I also helped with meals and light cleaning. A lot of what she needed was just companionship, so we would talk about her childhood, read aloud, and crochet.
More recently, I was involved in caring for my elderly in-laws. They were both diabetic (my mother-in-law severely so), had heart and blood pressure issues, and needed help with things like understanding their mail or setting up their television package. I did most of their cooking, as well as some light cleaning. As with my grandmother, we talked a lot and crocheted together. In addition, I'd drive them to the doctor or to get groceries, go on short walks, or just sit on the porch; whatever they needed at the time. My mother-in-law passed last year, and my father-in-law moved in with other family, so my care for them came to an end.
I saw first hand how badly these 3 people just wanted someone to spend time with them and make them feel like they still made a difference in the world; to help with the tasks that they wanted to do themselves but were unable. If I can help your loved one in this way, I'd love to talk with you.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

0 years paid experience with:

  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Diabetic Care

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 12/31/19

  • Weekday Early Morning
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English
Jump to Top
Leigh Ann G.
Leigh Ann G.
Robertsdale, AL 36567
0

years experience

Home Care Rates $40 per half day

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now