Sittercity home
Barbara M., Care Companion in Encinitas, CA 92024 with 0 years paid experience

Barbara M. Care Companion in Encinitas, CA 92024

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    CPR certification

Encinitas, CA (Encinitas, CA • 16 miles away | will travel 20 mi)

  • 0 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Barbara’s Bio

Since Covid, I have been my mothers caregiver as she is recovering from hip surgery. At the end of February she fell and broke her hip. She was in a recovery home when they closed doors to visitors. Since the business I worked for closed, I had the time to be my mom's home health provider. After she came home, I came over 4 days a week to help (my brother and his family live with her, but they work). I sat in on all the Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy sessions, so I would be able to help with these. I managed her medications and prepared meals, and did her laundry. She appreciated me just sitting with her and watching her favorite shows. This extra time also allowed me to cook and deliver meals for her sister and her husband once a week, who were of course house bound. My mom will be 90 this year, her sister is 88. My mother is much more independent now, so I regularly take her and her sister out for errands and lunch. While this hasn't been a paid position, it has shown me that this could be a new career move, as I really enjoy helping and serving people. It is very important to me to make a positive difference in peoples lives!


Age Specific Experience

0 years paid experience with:

  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 2/10/21

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekends Daytime


Barbara R. is a reference for Barbara M. Relationship: Family

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "".

Jump to Top
Barbara M.
Barbara M.
Encinitas, CA 92024

years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

  • Basic background check

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now