Sittercity Sign up

Amanda N. Care Companion in Newbury Park, CA 91320

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Newbury Park, CA

  • Age 26
  • 2 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within a month

Home Care Rates $15 per hour

Amanda’s Bio

I am an unlicensed caregiver working out of the Canoga Park area. I took an interest in companion care from a very young age. I grew older I was employed by two families with very different needs.

My first patient was a retired school teacher in her 70s who was diagnosed with Alzheimer's. Her needs included bathing, feeding, and light housekeeping. Unfortunately over time the disease took it's toll and she became violent and refused to eat. Her daughter felt it was best to place her into an assisted living home.

Due to my patients condition it took me a brief period of time to assist another patient. My next employment was with a married couple. Their requirements were to have meal preparation, assistance bathing the wife, housekeeping, and my personal favorite just keeping them company. Sadly the husband passed away after 40 years of marriage. About two weeks after his passing she stated that she could no longer bare living in their home any longer and insisted I did not have to return to work. Losing him was difficult for me as well and afterwards I chose to look after child and did so for quite some time.

Now that time has passed I feel that I am ready to return to what I enjoy doing most and spend my time with experienced people who have so many stories to be heard. I look forward to meeting my new friend.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

2 years paid experience with:

  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Light housekeeping
  • Laundry and linen changes

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 2/9/17

  • Weekday Early Morning
  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.ccld.ca.gov".

Jump to Top
Amanda N.
Amanda N.
Newbury Park, CA 91320
26

years
of age

2

years experience

Home Care Rates $15 per hour

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now