JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Shay G. Care Companion in Denver, CO 80226

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Denver, CO

  • Age 20
  • 0 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within six months

Home Care Rates $10 per hour
$10 per half day
$25 per full day
$100 per week
$500 per month

Shay’s Bio

I have not been a paid care companion, but I have lots of experience. My Dad passed away from cancer 2 years ago. Before he passed, I became one of 3 caregivers/companions. This included making meals, watching tv shows together, reading out loud, light hygiene care, such as helping him to the bathroom, clipping toe and fingernails and helping teeth get brushed. I know how to switch oxygen tanks, administer medication, and know signs when something isn't right.

I am also experienced with Alztimers disease. My grandmother has been battling this disease for 12 years. I have learned to be very patient and help her understand information so that she can remember it. Because of this she often experiences mood swings. Learning how to approach her moods and identify what mood she is in has become a second nature. When her husband passed away a year ago, she came to live with me and my family. My mom and I became her care companion. This meant I got very good at making lots of coffee and scooping ice cream. She loved to read the newspaper and have the news going in the living room. She always wanted to be with someone so I learned to do most of my tasks around her, no matter how much extra work it was for me, it made her comfortable, that is what mattered.

My other Grandmother is hard of hearing and my Grandfather suffers from dementia. Learning to speak loud but not shout has been a great skill that I have learned. With my Grandfather, helping him fill in blank spots has become a fun game that the family plays when he is in need. It really helps him and this way he has a choice about what he did so after, he usually remembers what was said.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

0 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Dressing
  • Grooming

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Pain Management

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to work as a live in care provider

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 8/5/18

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English
Jump to Top
Shay G.
Shay G.
Denver, CO 80226
20

years
of age

0

years experience

Home Care Rates $10 per hour
$10 per half day
$25 per full day
$100 per week
$500 per month

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now